Hearts/Farts / Lipstick / Make up / Trend

Lipstick P/Review: Red Velvet Lips aka NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Monte Carlo

You probably aren’t too in the dark about these revolutionary matte lip creams, but in case you are, here’s another one. I do not have a proper review of this new type of lip product but I’ve talked about it plenty (like, here) and will continue to do so! Whenever I need a matte lip fix, this does not disappoint:

DSC_0196

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Monte Carlo, Php290

The shade in question here, Monte Carlo, is the darkest of the bunch. Of course, red and dark lips are in season all over again (do they even go out of season, anyway?) and while Tom Ford likes us to wear it slick and glossy, I can only get away with this version:

DSC_0205

I know it looks Photoshopped, but it’s not; this is just too intense for the pixels in the photo to process well, haha. And although I have a bevy of matte red lipsticks, I love the slight color quirk Monte Carlo offers. It is red, sure, but it has a slight berry tone to it, almost a perfect match with the MAC Beet lip liner I love (which I’m also using here). What’s more, the texture of this lip cream is to die for. It is really like matte velvet, very cushy and touchable.When I posted a preview photo on Facebook, a friend commented how my lips looked like “soft rose petals” and you know what, that just might be the best way to describe it!

DSC_0234

As you know, NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams apply wet and dry matte so it is virtually idiot-proof. If you refrain from eating and drink very carefully (though a straw, small sip, etc.) you might not have to reapply at all. Well, when I went out wearing this, I did eat and drink a lot yet I was left with a nice stain that’s just as easy to top off. I’m telling you: Idiot. Proof.

DSC_0203

Now, I wont have to say I heart this very much because it’s obvious. If you’re faint of heart, try it in other shades. But forget it—go for the whole she-bang and hug yourself for rocking a lip that’s as dry as it’s red. No compromise! Happy Sunday!

10 thoughts on “Lipstick P/Review: Red Velvet Lips aka NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Monte Carlo

  1. I love my Amsterdam one but I often have to muster up the courage to wear it! Your review’s making me want to grab Monte Carlo even more, along with Stockholm and Antwerp. Hihi

    • Hi Kari!!!! How have you been?! Yah, go and wear it–it’s not so bad, you’ll get used to it after the first few stares, hehe. I want naman San Paulo and Stockholm, too! Ugh.

  2. Pingback: Lipstick P/Review: NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Stockholm « an artechoke

  3. Pingback: Lipstick P/Review: NYX Soft Matte Lipstick In San Paulo | an artechoke

  4. Pingback: Lipstick P/Review: NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Antwerp | an artechoke

Leave a comment