Event / Face / Fashion / Lipstick / Lipstick P/Review / MAC / Trend

Lipstick P/Review: MAC Matte Lipstick in Sin

[This post was supposed to be] in time for Halloween, I bring you MAC’s Sin. I guess I wont be doing the Halloween party circuit this year (I have my own happy horror at home :p), but let me join in via a tube of a dark, vampy lippy.

DSC_2367

MAC Matte Lipstick in Sin, Php1000

I got this lipstick weeks ago when MAC Philippines brought in a selection of the Pro Lipsticks range. Actually, I wasn’t aware this was pro product, although I know this was previously unavailableโ€”I checked before. I have Katsy to thank, she posted about it on her Instagram, while I was at the mall with a MAC store. You and I know what happened next.

DSC_2369

Swatched, L-R: NYX Lipliner in Plum, MAC Lipstick in Sin, Happy Skin Shut Up and Kiss Me in Girls Night Out

MAC describes Sin as “deep dark blue red” in a matte finish. I am a fan of MAC mattes (I have quite a number of them) and this one is a matte as them all, in that it is dry and saturated with pigment. I believe this color was also relaunched as part of the Rocky Horror Picture Show so yeah, Halloween. The swatch above hopefully shows the nuance of its undertone, it’s has a deeper/browner hue to it than a typical wine or berry shade’s red. On the lips and in these photos, it pulls a bit redder because of the natural (yellow) daylight. Check out my Instagram for another photo.

DSC_2338 (2)DSC_2337 (2)

Texture and wear is what you’d expect from a MAC matte, it tugs a bit when applied but goes on opaque and velvety (I get around this by dabbing the lipstick on my lips first to somehow soften it, before swiping it full on). This lipstick benefits from a lipliner (I used NYX Lipliner Pencil in Plum), as you wont have to tug and mind the shape at the same time. Also, deep colors tend to look better when applied properly, unless you’re using it as a stain.

DSC_2343 (2)

I love that while this is a decidedly dark shade, it gives off a decadent finish. Halloween-looks aside, I can still see myself using this throughout the โ€“ber months. MAC mattes hare really a no-brainer for me, I’m so used to it, it’s like reuniting with an old friend. If you are on the lookout for something different/bolder this season, try this shade. It’s dark with a twist.

Putting on makeup hasn’t been my priority lately (with me being joined at the hip with my bebe), so a lipstick that packs a punch should be my go-to. What’s your makeup go-to?

5 thoughts on “Lipstick P/Review: MAC Matte Lipstick in Sin

  1. It does appear somewhat brown in some of my photos. On my face, though, it’s just black-ish blue red. Amazing how lipsticks appear different on diff skin tones.

  2. I really like your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other ๐Ÿ™‚ I am so glad I got to discover you โค

Leave a Reply

