base / Beauty Tools / Uncategorized

The Secret to My IG ‘Glow’: The BareMinerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream

If you follow me on Instagram, you’ll notice how I usually sport “a glow”, all due credit to one base product: the BareMinerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream. I have raved and reco’d this product several times, but I’m only writing a proper review now!
img_20170208_135500BareMinerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream in 06 Ginger and 07 Tan, 35 ml, about USD30

I learned of this product (and actually the first tube I have is a hand-me-down) from my sister who ‘discovered’ it. Complexion Rescue is basically, a tinted moisturiser that is oil, silicone, paraben and fragrance free. It has hydrating ingredients (olive-derived squalene, marine botanicals, hydrating humectants and coconut-derived ingredients), energising electrolytes (calcium, magnesium and potassium) to promote the skin’s moisture balance, and antioxidants (heart-leaf globe daisy) to protect against environmental stressors. It also has a non-chemical, mineral-based broad spectrum SPF 30 to protect skin against UV damage. In short, it is a powerhouse in a tube, but with some important considerations.

Complexion Rescue is a tinted moisturizer, meaning coverage isn’t its tallest order. If you’re looking to cover acne spots, major pigmentation and/or uneven skin tone, this isn’t for you. What I do notice is, it gives an even (coz it’s super easy to blend, the consistency is like watery gel) layer that glows/reflects light nicely. That’s why for me, it works! I don’t like heavy coverage especially for the majority of my face but I really appreciate that I get some sort of “glowy coat”. And that’s the next point, the glow. If you’re oily and/or hate the oily look, this isn’t for you either. Again, because it is a tinted moisturiser, you will feel and look wet (at least upon initial application). I understand some people are averse to the [feel of] moisturiser, however how thin or watery the consistency (as in this product) is. But if you like a glowy finish, this product delivers exactly that.

img_20170208_140001

Another issue is getting the correct shade. I have two, shades 06 Ginger (left) and 07 Tan (right). It’s only one shade apart but notice the jump in color. I like to use 07 Tan when I’m  tan, (personally, I feel better in a deeper base product than a lighter one) while 06 Ginger  is a tad too light for me. If I mix the two, I get the perfect match, but either way, it works coz it’s sheer enough. I understand Bare Minerals put out NEW, in-between shades (so in theory, I should be a 6.5 Desert) but without a physical store to do the swatching, I’d still be gambling on that. And then of course there’s the issue of availability, so if you have friends/relatives who are willing to mule for you from the US, etc (like my friend Kira) then all the better.

If you can get over these caveats, then you should be able to love Complexion Rescue like I do. I love how my skin feels instantly hydrated upon application, and how it’s made my skin feel and look ‘better’ after long-term use. Because I’m getting older, I value moisture a lot, it helps arrest ageing (internally) and gives a youthful look (externally).

img_20161114_1725151

I use about a pea-sized amount, applied with bare fingers. The products melts right into the skin but leaves a tacky feel upon application. I use a concealer (my usual is Maybelline Age Rewind) for additional coverage on my under eye area and the sides of my nose where I get red. I usually apply a cream blush while the base is still a bit moist so it looks more natural. I do the rest of my face and by the time that’s done, the finish sets to glowy but not-so-sticky state. I do not powder (save for contour powder), but I’m guessing that will help with the oily feel. I also never retouch my base makeup throughout the day (that’s about a 6-7 hour work day), I just blot my face midday. Complexion Rescue stays intact with minimal fading though I wouldn’t exactly recommend it for extended wear, or for events. I’d use a proper foundation in those cases.

img_20170214_093749

Left: Bare face, Middle: Applied one even layer of product, Right: With full face of makeup 

In the photo above, you can see the transition from my bare face, with one layer of Complexion Rescue and with the rest of my makeup. I don’t use powder to set, and in these photos, I particularly did not apply highlighting powder so you’ll see the “glow” I’m talking about. I did apply contour powder (Sleek Contour Kit in Light) and powder blush (Sleek Blush in Rose Gold). The rest of the makeup I used are in my recent IG post(if you want to know!).

img_20170212_135754

For everyday, daytime wear, I get an IG-ready, filter-savvy effect. I actually have to dial down the brightness/highlight of the pictures specially when I take photos in daylight! I like that I get a my-skin-but-better finish–I don’t mind seeing pores or an odd spot or two and I’m also not allergic to “shine”. I haven’t tried powdering over this product, but if I do, I’ll be sure to share it with  you on Instagram!

Have you tried the Bare Minerals Complexion Rescue Gel Cream?  Do you love it as much as I do? ❤

2 thoughts on “The Secret to My IG ‘Glow’: The BareMinerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream

    • Haha, true! I use powder highlighters to sort of balance it out.. the Essence Pure Nude is great coz it’s not too shimmery and kind of absorbs oils.

Leave a comment