Uncategorized

*Special* Lipstick Lineup: My Favorite Liquid Lipsticks

To kind of make up to you for this blog’s inactivity, allow me to share a special lineup of my favorite-est liquid lipsticks..It’s one beauty item which I have been consistently purchasing, nevermind that I have a good couple. I’m not proud of that fact, and that I’ve bought into the whole liquid lipstick thing. But to be fair, I’ve always loved a good matte lip and I’ve been a fan of the “first-gen” lip creams (NYX SMLC, anyone?) even before. I’m amazed that a liquid substance can set to a semi-solid surface, and that I can forget about out of thin air! *geek talk*

Anyway, these formulations have gone a long way and now we have a proliferation of these bullet-proof lip products, from the drugstore to high-end, from startups to big brands. So here are my picks from the lot!
img_3240

Top to bottom: Dose of Colors in Cork, NYX Cosmetics in Berlin, Kat Von D in Lolita, Ofra Cosmetics in Mocha, Happy Skin Glam Squad in Rose Brown, Sleek Makeup Matte Me in Birthday Suit 

img_3239

Swatches, left to right: Kat Von D Lolita, Dose of Colors in Cork, Sleek Makeup Matte Me in Birthday Suit, Ofra Cosmetics in Mocha, Happy Skin Glam Squad in Rose Brown, NYX Cosmetics in Berlin

1460801461_thumb.jpeg

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick (in Lolita) My favorite in formulation, color and packaging (wand-type). I wrote a full review here, but what you only need to know about this is if you’ve tried it, you would struggle settling for any other liquid lipsticks. And Lolita is such a stunning color, I always get asked what I’m wearing when I have it on! I’ve written a full review of it here.
img_20160925_144821

A Dose of Color Liquid Lipstick (in Cork) I really love the color—a trendy warm brown, and texture—like melted chocolate, of this liquid lipstick. Also, it has an amazing texture, very thin and sets to a most comfortable finish. I almost like it as much as Kat Von D but I really take issue with its wand applicator, which is a cushy, mess. Application made unnecessarily extra hard, as you can see in my annoying IG story snapshot above.

img_20160706_142243

Sleek Makeup Matte Lip Cream (in Birthday Suit) – this peachy nude is such a crowd-pleaser..it’s a bright nude that applies and feels light on the lips. I like how easily flattering this is, without trying too hard. This was part of my Sleek Makeup Matte Me Lipstick Lineup here.

img_20160926_165902

Happy Skin Glam Squad Liquid Lipstick (in Rose Brown) – I love this lipstick a lot, I use it as my almost everyday office lip color. It is a standard liquid lipstick: fully matte, pigmented, long-lasting lip product in a cool mauvey brown-pink color which I’m all about these days. Since it’s easily available and moderately-priced, I have no qualms using it a lot, and buying another tube if need be!

img_7717
Ofra Cosmetics Liquid Lipstick (in Mocha) – I believe OFRA reformulated their liquid lipsticks from this old one that I previously reviewed. The new ones are softer, much more comfortable and probably the closest in formula to a traditional matte lipstick. When I need a no-brainer, MLBB lip-look, I reach out of this tube. The color is flattering, the formula thin and buildable. It sets to a semi-sticky matte finish that’s not drying at all. I’ve reviewed other Ofra lip products here.

img_0517
NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream (in Berlin) – I have to include this in the list eventhough it underperforms in pigmentation and staying power..it is, after all, a lip cream and not liquid lipstick. I still love the moussey texture that is easy to apply and wear. You just have to layer it a couple of times to get even opacity. The new shades I have, Rome and Berlin are such great everday trendy lip colors! I’ve written plenty about NYX SMLCs, check them out here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment