Beauty Tools / Lipstick / Lipstick P/Review / Make up / Trend

Lipstick P/Review: Kat Von D Beauty Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita

I have been a fan of liquid lipsticks—lip creams as they were previously called, mostly because they apply ‘liquid’ but set ‘solid’. Something about this changing of state makes cosmetics all the more interesting and alluring to me—that’s pretty much science right there! Anyway, geek talk aside, this particular brand has captivated a very wide audience in the beauty realm. Reknowned celebrity tattoo artist of the Miami and LA Ink fame, Kat Von D has launched her namesake beauty brand years ago, taking much from her aesthetic and lifestyle.
Kat Von D Beauty Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita

The Everlasting Liquid Lipstick is one of her most popular products, and the shade Lolita has got to be the most popular shade. So popular that it came out in “batches” or “versions” and now has a sequel, Lolita II.

The packaging is slimmer than most liquid lipsticks I have, but the doe foot applicator is thicker and sturdier, which makes application better as you get more resistance from the wand. I have to stress how much this wand makes application better! You apply with a steadier hand, and you can work in the product on your lips harder/less tentatively. I find that I get better looking results with this liquid lipstick because of that wand, alone. Below, I’m wearing Lolita in only about one layer, it’s fairly easy to get it to apply evenly:

The color is a deepened mauve with complex undertones..I can probably say that the shade Lolita has been one of those which started the 90s lip revival, at least for me! The undertone is what makes this liquid lipstick unique in my opinion, it has the perfect mix of cool and warm, gray and brown.

But perhaps, the winningest thing about the Everlasting Liquid Lipstick is its formula. It goes on smooth and creamy, with consistent and almost full opacity in one go. It sets fully and comfortably matte in a few minutes, isn’t tacky on the lips and stays put for very long. But it isn’t too long-lasting that you’ll fear something chemically wrong is at work.  Honestly, it is one of my favorite lip formulas! You can see how I mean in this comparison swatch above. The E.L.L. in Lolita on the left and the Ofra Liquid Lipstick in Mocha  (a close color dupe, IMO) on the right, both in one swipe. If you love liquid lipsticks, I highly urge you to try this! It is my favorite (so far) just cause it nails the formula and shade that I’m after. I get so excited every time I wear it, plus I get compliments when I do! 😉

If you’ve tried this (or any other gooood liquid lipsticks), please share your thoughts!

 

2 thoughts on “Lipstick P/Review: Kat Von D Beauty Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita

  1. It’s a stunning colour! Does it also remind you of Revlon’s Matte Balm in Sultry?
    I love Amore in Stila’s All Day Liquid Lipstick too which has similar tones. You should check it out.

Leave a Reply

