Lipstick / Make up / Revlon

On Revlon’s Siren and the One That Got Away

Yesterday, I got some time to while away at the SM Makati Beauty Section. If you’re a makeup junkie like me, it’s worth your garbanzos to pay it a visit; they have quite an array of local and foreign makeup kiosks (a lot of drugstore and mid-level brands!). Anyway, as I am still obsessed with finding a tangerine/orange anything, I found solace at the Revlon counter, as they have in my opinion, decent quality lipsticks in wide finish and color variety.

Immediately, I zoomed in on the corals. I have tried this before, so I tried another one, the Super Lustrous Lipstick (Crème) in Siren, it being the most vibrant orange of the lot. The formula’s lovely, very glide-able, and the color generally face-friendly. Instant face-warmer!

Take note: As a healthy practice/precaution, ask to have the sales person scrape off the top layer of lipstick before trying it on. Or, swipe it repeatedly with a piece of tissue.

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick Crème in Siren, Php 450 (Don’t you just love that ‘retro’ Revlon typeface?!)

As I was asking for stock, I let my eyes roam about some more, and tried this:

Revlon Matte in Smoked Peach, Php 475

Yikes, trouble! A while ago, I was sold on Siren, but this matte salmon hue just begs for a double-take! I just had a problem with the finish, as it was as matte as marshmallow and tends to highlight lip cracks, but I like the feel of it on my lips: like it’s not there. In the end, I went ahead with Siren (I was already holding the stock na kasi!) but left wearing Smoked Peach on my lips. An hour later, at dinner, my boyfriend noticed my lipstick and he likes it.  At this point, I could almost cry. I’ve been yearning for the matte lipstick ever since we parted, and now, he just have to notice it!

Wearing Stila tri-color eyeshadow and Revlon Matte in Smoked Peach

I even took a photo of it, so I won’t forget how it looks like. Siempre, now I like it all the more..!

Isa pa, sorry, just mind the lipstick!

That’s why I haven’t opened the Siren yet (and kept the receipt).  I’m thinking of swapping (or, gasp, buying ulit!) it with Smoked Peach. Malls are closed today and tomorrow—I feel helpless and at the same time, guilty, for thinking about lipsticks more than I should! Sigh..

Have a peaceful Holy Week, everyone.

Revlon Smoked Peach photo from net-thirft.com.

6 thoughts on “On Revlon’s Siren and the One That Got Away

  1. Pingback: On Orange Lips and Sending Out An Alarm « an artechoke

  2. Pingback: Quick Makeup Post: Art Exhibit Opening « an artechoke

  3. Pingback: On Tangerine Tango and Lipstick Lineup « an artechoke

  4. Pingback: Lipstick Lineup: Summer Edition | an artechoke

Leave a comment