Lipstick / Make up / Uncategorized

Colourpop x Alexis Ren Review, the Third Time Around

I can’t believe I’m writing this post THE THIRD TIME! Arghhh!

I’ve written this post, excitedly, while I was on my Colourpop high, but my sucky blog writing program, Blogo, lost it. It has never happened to me before, I usually recover offline posts without a hitch. So that has put me off writing for a while. And then I attempted to re-write the post recently, as best as I can, and uploaded it to WordPress. When I checked, it was an empty post. You know, writing a proper post is hard enough as it is so losing two is just..unbelievable! So, I apologise ahead if this post reads lackluster..but I hope I can still give you the information and insight that you need!

I ordered these items directly from the Colourpop website, my first time to do so! I got them without even knowing who Alexis Ren is and what she does–I just know that the products are new (at that time) and that they look unusually chic! Look it!

1495256035_thumb.jpeg

Colourpop x Alexis Ren Topaz Face Duo (USD15), Blotted Lip in Deja Vu (USD 5) and Ultra Satin Lip in Bare Necessities  (USD 6)

1495256215_thumb.jpeg

The collection is done in shades of black and copper, and I’m totally one to judge makeup by its packaging, so I have to say Colourpop scored big on this one. The stuff looks more expensive than they look. But more importantly, do they perform?
FullSizeRender-8

Swatches (as seen on my IG #SwatchSundays), from left:  Topaz Pressed Powder in Golden Moment bronzer, She’s Here to Stay highlighter, Ultra Satin Lip in Bare Necessities, Blotted Lip in Deja Vu 

Here’s how they look when worn! I applied the bronzer on the sides of my face and jawline. I keep making the mistake of using it as a contour (but you shouldn’t as it is too warm, for me at least) but it works best as a complexion warmer. It gives a believable LA/just-been-to-the-beach look, which I need badly. I have NOT been to the beach and been looking pale lately. I used the highlighter on my cheekbones, the bridge of  my nose, etc. A word of caution though, She’s Here To Stay is GOLD, literally. It looks champagne on swatches but has fine gold flecks so I use a fan brush (very fluffy) to apply that way I can control it better.

1495282849_thumb.jpeg

I also applied the highlighter on my eyes, in the middle of my lids and inner corners. It looks very comely and I can’t help but do it every time I use it! It gives me such a bright and healthy look!

1495282902_thumb.jpegI am very impressed with the quality of these pressed powders–nicely pigmented (not overly so that you end with a splotchy finish, layers well etc), with minimal kickoff. It feels just like expensive powders, and I’m sorry if I can’t describe it any better than that! I believe Colourpop has launched more of these pressed powder duos that are not limited edition so you those are so worth checking out!

1495283895_thumb.jpeg

Colourpop x Alexis Ren Ultra Satin Lip in Bare Necessities

Moving on to the lip things, I finally got to try the Ultra Satin Lip and wow, let me tell you what a revelation that was! I was never a fan of their Ultra Matte Lip because while there were amazing colors, I can’t stand the super dry texture. I’m no stranger to matte lipsticks but theirs was really uncomfortable, sandpaper-y. This new formula is more my speed, still passably matte but not crinkly dry. I honestly enjoy wearing it and this Alexis Ren nude shade, Bare Necessities looks about the perfect peachy pink. At first application, it was shockingly bright, but it dries down to a muted pink. The texture, like I mentioned, is like any other liquid lipstick except that it sort of sets to only about 90%, leaving just the right amount of sheen and softness to the finish.

1495283817_thumb.jpeg

The other “new” thing they’ve launched with this collection is the Blotted Lip which is probably the one I was excited about the most. Their website describes it as “Weightless. Diffused. Natural” and I agree to all of it (see swatch above).

1495283953_thumb.jpeg

Colourpop x Alexis Ren Blotted Lip in Deja Vu

It’s like a pigmented matte lip balm that you’ve rubbed off. It almost feels underwhelming but I think that is exactly the concept behind it. I had to layer it a couple of times for the look below.

1495283774_thumb.jpeg

The color is the perfect pinky-mauve, and I guess would suit your MLBB needs. Luckily, Colourpop has released a lot more colors and an off shoot Ultra Blotted Lip (which I annoyingly want to try too) so you no longer have to wonder about them. This seems like a good alternative for non-lipstick loving/natural girls as it feels like nothing. Weirdly enough, I haven’t been using this as much as I intend to because I’m a bit go-big-or-go-home when it comes to lip wear. But this is good so it’s really me missing out (note to self); you, on the other hand should not!

Check me out on IG for more stories, posts and whathaveyous! I’m a bit more active on IG so I hope to connect better with you there! xx

Leave a Reply

