Uncategorized

Updated: Skin Care Favorites

I’ve posted this photo on IG (at anartechoke, y’all) earlier this month—my skin care favorites, some I’ve been using for a long time while others, new discoveries.

I don’t have perfect skin, but since I got pregnant and gave birth, my skin has cleared some what. Probably because my hormones have decided to give it a rest, maybe because I have outgrown my sebum (the new enemy is aging, and well, we’ll deal with that later!). I’ve been enjoying pimple-less complexion, and generally my skin isnt as angry/reactive anymore.  I’ve kept a very simple routine these years,  I haven’t even gone to the Derma in years (maybe 2). I just make sure my skin is clean and moisturized at all times. Of course skin care is very relative and personal. Years of testing and hit-or-missing is involved; also, getting older means giving myself a break. I don’t obssess about my skin as much, and if a pimple decides to pop out, I just let it run its course. Good news is, it does go away. 😉 Here are the products I use, grouped according to use!

CLEANSING
At the end of the day, I make sure to wipe off all of my makeup–with Micellar Water first if I’m wearing a full face of makeup. I use Bioderma and recently turned to Garnier (big bottle given by my sister). They pretty much work the same, the water-like formula makes sure I rub off as much face and eye makeup as I can. And then I use my long-time-love, the Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil. If I’m wearing minimal makeup, I go straight to this step. I’ve been using this cleanser for about 10 years! I pump a small amount of oil and massage it to dry skin first, then work it up to a mild lather by adding a bit of water. I concentrate on my eye area, massaging outwards to the rest of my face. And then, I will wash it all off with a mild cleanser. I’ve been using Neutrogena Pure Mild Facial Cleanser forever too, since high school! But now that I’m older I find that the Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration Cream Cleanser gives me much-needed balance between squeaky clean and hydration.

TONING

After cleansing, I apply toner. I’ve been using Pixi Skintreats Glow Tonic religiously for more than a year now and what a difference it makes! It contains 5% Glycolic Acid, a mild exfoliant/peel that weakens the bonds that hold together the upper/dry skin layer allowing for new skin to surface. I feel that has helped my complexion a lot, and I’ve been enjoying clear, “glowy” skin recently. Which reminds me, I need to buy a bottle soon!

MOISTURIZING
I admit to being a bit lazy with moisturizing (specially during the daytime!) so the Pixi Hydrating Milky Mist with Hyularonic Acid feels like a cheat! I spritz it on on most days when I can’t be bothered to apply proper moisturizer. At night, I apply the Burt’s Bees Radiance NIght Cream and Eye Cream with Royal Jelly. The light texture on both makes it all bearable!


EXTRAS
These items I use on a as-per-needed-basis, for example, the Clarins Beauty Flash Balm is my primer of choice when going out at night. I smooth it on (don’t rub!) for a layer that makes my skin appear tight ang bright. It’s simply a must for me. I also bring the Celeteque Moisturizing Mist with me when I travel to battle off the heat mostly. I also use this when I need to re-do my makeup (like when I already got home and need to go out again), so I can freshen up without having to wash my face. The Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence is my hands-down, favorite daily sunscreen. It’s light, odorless, colorless and overall a delightful cream that I like to use a primer for my daytime makeup too. And lastly, and a recent discovery is the Pixi Skintreat Glow Peel Pads, a once-a-week thing for me which is a great addition to my skin care. I can’t stress enough how mild exfoliation has done wonders to my skin. This has 20% Glycolic Acid, a whole lot potent than the Glow Tonic so you can’t use this daily and during the daytime. It stings very very slightly, and you have to neutralize (aka rinse with water) it a few minutes after application. I’ve never experienced extreme physical peeling with this, although I guess I do like, microscopically. I’ve only been using this for a few months but I feel like the result is finer looking skin, and I can see that my skin has improved a lot.

There you have it! If you have any questions about any of these products, just leave a comment below and I’ll try my best to address them. Of course, nothing beats a trip to the Derma for the best advice, but I’m happy to help anyway! xx

 

Leave a Reply

