Beauty Tools / Face / Guerlain / Lipstick / Lipstick P/Review / Make up / Shopping / Trend / Uncategorized

Lipstick P/Review: Guerlain Rouge G L’Extrait in Orgueil

Whew, did that title twist your tongue or what?!

The Guerlain Rouge G L’Extrait is a semi-new line of lipsticks which apply like gloss yet set like lipstick. ‘Semi-new’ because with the proliferation of liquid lipsticks in the market now, this form of lip product doesn’t surprise any more. But when launched in 2012, this was still a novelty! I’m not surprised, this coming from a brand which sort of started it all…

Pure seduction, incredible sophistication… Lipstick is reinvented in an exceptional jewel with Rouge G L’Extrait. As creamy as a gloss, its comfortable texture glides perfectly over the lips. As pigmented as a lipstick, its long-lasting coverage offers one of the most sophisticated matte make-up results. Play up your femininity to the extreme… Wear it not to tease but to awaken desire! Colour becomes matte in a few seconds and unfurls its superb effect on the lips: precisely defined and perfectly smoothed, lips dress up in an ultra-luxurious texture.

fall2012_guerlaingloss001

FUN FACT: Did you know that Guerlain was the first to commercially manufacture lipsticks? Throughout most of the 19th century the obvious use of cosmetics was not considered acceptable in Britain for respectable women, and it was associated with marginalized groups such as actors and prostitutes(!). It was considered brazen and uncouth to wear makeup. In the 1850s, reports were being published warning women of the dangers of using lead and vermilion in cosmetics applied to the face. By the end of the 19th century, Guerlain, a French cosmetic company, began to manufacture lipstick. The first commercial lipstick had been invented in 1884, by perfumers in Paris, France.*

*Source: Wiki 

1464427838_thumb.jpeg

Guerlain Rouge G L’Extrait in Orgueil (M69) Php 2,500

I like how the shades are named after the 7 Deadly Sins, which to me adds to its luxurious, dangerous vibe.  It’s funny I was drawn to Pride, the sin I should think I’m most guilty of!

  • Avarice (M06) Beige for greed
  • Colere (M25) Red for wrath
  • Luxure (M27) Deeper red for lust
  • Envie (M41) Orange for envy
  • Paresse (M65) Pink for sloth
  • Orgueil (M69) Plum for pride
  • Gourmandise (M71) Raspberry for gluttony

Once we get over how these things are named, let’s take a moment to admire the packaging.

IMG_20160527_194234

Okay, done.

The Rouge G L’Extrait is the heaviest lipstick I own thus far. It is SLEEK. SILVER. SOLID. SPECIAL! The shiny bullet-shaped tube comes with a twist and lock mechanism that needs some getting used to–you pull and twist, and the mirror will pop open. It is the perfect lipstick to bring to parties, not to mention worth displaying too! Overall, the OTT packaging is so worth the price; guys, it is a thing of beauty.

Another remarkable thing about Guerlain is how they fragrance their products, and this is part of why you must love the brand (if you’re already a fan, that is). They generously apply their strength in perfumery, in fact each product comes with a detailed description of  the scent, like so:

The light, delicate scent of a vanilla “floriental” leaves its incomparable mark on Rouge G L’Extrait. Top notes sparkle with a lemon, orange and bergamot accord. The rose and iris heart exudes sweetness. The vanilla and tonka bean dry-down gives Rouge G L’Extrait all of its intensity.  

I will attest to you though that the fragrance does not bother me one bit. Probably because these are not your typical synthetic scents, but rather fine fragrances from real, quality essential oils. The texture is creamy, and application is typical for anything that comes in flock/doefoot applicators. But because Orgueil is such a deep, intense color, it is a challenge to apply evenly and perfectly. One way I get around this is to apply like a stain, like what I did here.  Otherwise, if you take the time, it looks like this:

g2

The Rouge G L’Extrait feels luxurious and rich on the lips–I know people tend to use “like butter” a lot, but this is the real deal, the closest description I can think of! It sets to a even layer no matter how you touch it up in places, and the finish is a lovely velvety matte. See below? It’s such a welcome relief to all the drying mattes I’ve been sporting lately..I love those, but you do get what you pay for, and this liquid lipstick is as comfortable as it is gorgeous!

g3

The color, Orgueil, is a red based-plum and as in most richly pigmented lipsticks, hard to photograph accurately. The color shifts and deepens as the light hits it, but the photo below is the closest to how I see it with my eyes. I wore it recently to an event and I love how it wore on throughout the night! I didn’t have to wear  much else!

IMG_20160615_220025

Hello Guerlain at the back!

So, if you want a piece of an exquisite cosmetic history that you can keep for your daughter and granddaughter, GET THIS. I love everything about it, and it functions as well as it looks–something you can keep and treasure, just like any good lover of makeup and beauty!

 

Take this chance to avail of the Rouge G L’Extrait! You may avail of a special surprise when you pick this, or something else from the Guerlain Greenbelt pop-up until June 30 only, just give them my unique code AEG011! Please tag me on Instagram ((at) anartechoke) with your picks! I hope you swing by and at least swatch this at the store, you’ll love it I promise! ❤

5 thoughts on “Lipstick P/Review: Guerlain Rouge G L’Extrait in Orgueil

  1. What a stunning colour Ae! It looks great on you. I love the formulation of these matte lippies. I need to dust off mine (I have Avarice and Paresse) and start wearing them again. I took Avarice out of my bag months ago now, preempting some questions I might get asked at airport security 😉
    I am now tempted to get Orgueil . . . .

    • Thanks (as always), Payal! 🙂 Wow, you have two! Haha, I wouldn’t risk bringing mine on a flight too-they might confiscate! Orgueil really is special..although a bit too special for daily use, haha!

      • It’s interesting you say that. I have this (in my opinion) bad habit of saving my best stuff for special occasions which end up being too few and far between. So I’m trying to enjoy the luxuries I have as much as possible each day. Wear Orgueil and enjoy it I say.
        I’m sure you’ll have heaps of other new special ones in the future 😉

        I have two because I have no self control! 😈
        It is only apt then that I have Avarice! ☺️

Leave a Reply

