Beauty Tools / Event / Eyes / Face / Lipstick / Make up / Trend

Give Pink A Chance: The L’Oreal La Palette Nude and Velvet Pink Lipsticks

Last week, I’ve been invited by L’Oreal Philippines and Digify to the launch of their much anticipated eyeshadow palette, the La Palette Nudes and line of new lipsticks, the Color Riche Collection Star Velvet Pinks. 

IMG_20160531_175604

#ChoosePinks: The new La Palette Nude in Rose and the seven Velvet Pink Lipsticks 

IMG_20160531_164052

Only, it wasn’t a straight up blog event where you sip tea, nibble on macarons and play with makeup (although there was plenty of that, too!)—it was a swatch-and-shoot event, with concept+execution care of Digify. It was the first event of its kind that I attended, and of course, I had to try the cinemagraph booth! I am averse to shooting videos of myself, but this I can surely handle. Check out my take here!
DSC_0073

L’Oreal La Palette Nude in Pink (left) and Beige (right); Php800 (on sale now for Php600!)

Anyway, fast forward to today, I wanted to show you the real stars of the event, the 10-shade La Palette Nude in Beige and Rose, and two of the Velvet Pinks that I have.

DSC_0085
L’Oreal La Palette Nude in Pink and Color Rice Collection Star Velvet Pink lipsticks in Nymphea (Eva) and Rose Lotus (J.Lo), Php400 each

The palette, a petite and pretty scaled down version, has 10 shades of matte and shimmery neutrals in brown and pink colorways. I find the shades very practical—intuitively chosen and arranged, of good powder quality and generally, very hard to make mistakes with. Everything is very coherent, very harmonious. These are shades that deserve a spot in your makeup collection, even if you’re the type who steer clear from pink, cutesy stuff (like me)! Pink, after all, is a natural-occurring skin hue and more often than not, it happens to be flattering!

IMG_20160608_163151

I thought I’d do a pretty pinky look using the La Palette Nude Rose palette and a Velvet Pink lipstick. Again, nothing revolutionary, but I think these sort of shades are the type you can easily play with. I used about four shades from the 10-shade palette for a quick daytime/work look–the basic lid wash, some contour and eye line definition. I finished the look with the medium pink nude lipstick, Nymphea. The finish is soft matte, a silicon-y version that is not too pigmented and would need a few layers to build. The color is very flattering and would suit most skin tones.

What do you think?

Anyway, it is worth a peek, and better to do it now while they’re is still on sale! You can get L’Oreal at almost all leading department stores and drugstores. Happy shopping!

One thought on “Give Pink A Chance: The L’Oreal La Palette Nude and Velvet Pink Lipsticks

  1. I agree, pink can be so flattering. I refrained from using the colour up until a couple of years ago. As long as you’re not trying to look too doll-like, I think it can look fabulous, grown up and natural.

Leave a Reply

