Beauty Tools / Face / Skin Care

Keeping Your Cool This Summer: Burt’s Bees and Beauty

It’s been a long while, hasn’t it? I hope you’re following me on IG, as I’m more inclined to post random stuff there than here. Anyway, the heat’s probably got to me–makeup’s been the last thing on my mind lately! But today, I took extra time to share with you what I do in this meltdown!

This Burt’s Bees Nourishing Water is genius! Actually this post is centered around this product and how it gets me much needed moisture in this heat! I know it’s counterintuitive to moisturize when you’re sweating your face off, but believe me, this works!

Infused with the hardy, moisture-loving botanical Clary Sage, the Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration Nourishing Facial Water is clinically proven to give skin an instantly nourishing, pH-balancing boost of hydration. What I do is decant it on a small spritzer and spray before I apply makeup. Because this is almost like water, I find that spritzing it on gives a refreshing feel while ensuring the tiny droplets gets absorbed by the skin faster. My skin feels fresh and plump, I’m almost tempted not to put anything on it afterwards! Anyway, prepping the skin this way makes it so much ready to accept makeup and gives it a very soft, and (I imagine) a glowy-y effect (see below)!


Of course, I always, always put on a sunscreen (minimum SPF 50!)—my go-to for the past months has been the Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence. It’s light, cool as water, has no scent (you know, that sunscreen smell) and is infused with hyauronic acid and citrus extract. It’s perfect under makeup as it has no whitecast, and blends to nothing on the skin. For base, I’ve been using the Celeteque 24-hr Photoready Liquid Foundation because it has a nice, silicon-y texture and ample coverage. I also use Koh Gen Do Aqua Foundation because while it comes out moussy, it melts like water on the skin (this is what I used below). I use a very small amount though, as little as I can get away with because it still is foundation, and it will feel like it if you use a lot. I conceal a bit and then do my contour, highlight and blush using powder. This Celeteque Blush and Face Contour trio applies light and sits comfortably on the skin. I prefer powder formulas when it gets really hot (the way I’d use Johnson’s baby powder on my body during summer, hehe). And though I have amassed quite a number of liquid lipsticks, I find much needed comfort using my staple Lip Ice lip balm lined with a nude lip liner. It’s a bit of a misnomer coz it’s not really mentholated, but the texture is thin and not tacky at all—this is a long-time favourite!

IMG_20160513_103643

The rest are just add-ons, a bit of waterproof mascara (Estee Lauder Double Wear Extreme), brow mascara (L’Oreal Brow Stylist Plumper) and waterproof eye and brow liners (Eye of Horus Liquid Define in Babylon Brown, K-Palette Brow Liner). Notice that I use a lot of light, water-based and waterproof formulas because anything but would end sorrily someplace else. I can’t tell you how many times I wipe the sweat off my face (my upper lip, ugh!) but I’m happy to report that the makeup stays in place.

What about you, what are  your makeup woes and/or tips this summer? 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Keeping Your Cool This Summer: Burt’s Bees and Beauty

    • I have the Caudalie and Sukin face mists and I like them as they are, facial mists to refresh and revive, to bring with me when I travel. This Burt’s Bees isn’t really a mist (I just repurposed it as so), really more like a moisturiser that works well pre-makeup as I feel like it doesn’t add pa a “layer” on my face. 🙂

Leave a Reply

