Event / Lipstick / Make up / QMP / Revlon

VDAY QMP: Two Red Lips with Revlon

Guys, I’m sorry to go all MIA on you..it’s just that I seem to spend a lot of my non-working hours with my kid and that takes a lot of energy. I barely have time to put on (and take off) my makeup. But please do check out my IG ( (at) anartechoke) coz that’s the easiest way for me to share and chat.

But, hey, Valentine’s! Remember when I had the energy to do not one, not two, but THREE looks for that event ! Anyway, now I have a quick one, but well, using two lip versions: one glossy, one matte!

Revlon Ultra HD Matte Lipcolor in HD Love and Ultra HD Lip Lacquer in HD Fire Opal 

This look is pretty straight-forward, very classic, and one that I’ve worn so many times here on the blog.

FACE. I used Clarins Beauty Flash Balm as primer, which worked oh-so-wonderfull with my Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk foundation (I wear the shade 6.25). I’m also wearing the ZA Perfect Concealer in shade 2, on my undereyes and on the sides of the nose. I used the Sleek Contour Kit in Light to contour and highlight, and Sleek Rose Gold for blush.

EYES & BROWS: L’Oreal Brow Stylist Plumper in Light-Medium and K-Palette Brow Pen on my brows. I used my LORAC 2 Palette for my eyes, just a basic eyeshadows; matte beige on all over the lid and a matte brown to contour. I dabbed a shimmery beige eyeshadow on the inner corner of the eyes and lined my eyes with L’Oreal gel eyeliner. Finished with coats of Benefit They’re Real mascara on top and bottom lashes.

LIPS. The first version of this look is with a matte red lip, courtesy of Revlon’s new Ultra HD Matte Lipcolor in the aptly named HD Love. This is Revlon’s latest lip product, joining the liquid lip band wagon, and my first impression was of course, great! I was actually eagerly waiting for this to come out here! This applies creamy (and not liquid-y) and doesn’t quiet dry down to a matte finish right away. In fact, it takes a long while. If you’re in a hurry, pat a tissue over it and you get a beautiful flat finish, as you would, below:

Revlon Ultra HD Matte Lipcolor in HD Love

The second version is with a glossy red lip, using the Revlon Ultra HD Lip Lacquer in HD Fire Opal. To be honest, I dislike glosses—perhaps you know that already. Anyway, this product from Revlon, which launched some time ago is a very rich, thick and pigmented “gloss”. It’s unlike the teeny bopper lip glosses of my younger days, and this has a very adult-glam feel to it. And you’d be surprised to know that I liked this version more than the matte one! I dont know, I must be maturing! Although, ugh, I wonder how I will manage when I wear it out!

Revlon Ultra HD Lip Lacquer in HD Fire Opal
I imagine the matte lip would work for a more casual, daytime date while the glossy one would be nice for dressier dinner type of thing. What do you think? Which look would you go for? Of course you could replace it for any lip color, Revlon does both in several hues!

PR Sample. Thoughts are honest and entirely my own. 

 

One thought on “VDAY QMP: Two Red Lips with Revlon

  1. Pingback: Lipstick Lineup: Revlon Ultra HD Matte Lipcolors | an artechoke

Leave a Reply

