Lipstick / Lipstick P/Review / Make up

Lipstick P/Review: Colourpop Lippie Stix in Lumiere

Hey guys I just want you to know that I’VE FINALLY TRIED A COLOURPOP LIPPIE STIX!

Colourpop Lippie Stix in Lumiere, Php375 at @makemeupmanila

Haha, I thought that was overly dramatic but you know, the brand has been all over my Feedly and IG feed! And since a pop of Colourpop costs only $5 (plus markup and shipping in my side of the world), I decided to get one and see what it’s like.

The Colourpop Lippie Stix comes in a slim-type swivel bullet and has 1.5 g of product (a regular lipstick’s about 3). I’m okay with the slimness of the packaging, but the lipstick itself is even more slender and that feels weird when applied—I had to go over my lips twice for coverage. It being slimmer means it’s more prone to melting, too. And that is a valid concern for us living in the tropics! I had to store mine in the fridge coz it was almost melting in this heat. (And can we talk about this heat?!) 

I chose Lumiere, which is the most popular color in the matte line, from what I gather. I hate how it registers pink in these photos because in real life, it is definitely more mauve (I attached a phone photo below). It is dimmer and dirtier, if you can call it that. I love how the color gives off a non-perky pink color which I am kind of over at this point (of the perky pinks, I mean).

The texture is matte, but is tacky/sticky. Pigmentation and saturation are tops—a layer coats the lip with an even glove of color that lasts well. Although I, ugh, hate the lardy-oily taste and feel of it! I cant stand the first few minutes wearing it, but it fades. Still, it’s almost a deal-breaker for me, I’m almost scared to ingest that stuff. I’m probably partial to the powdery-matte finishes.

Here’s a photo from my phone—hopefully it shows the color more accurately. 

Anyway, all things considered, I think the Lippie Stix range is worth checking out. Cheap, with great quality and in trendy colors, gals on a budget and lipstick magpies would have a holiday!  It’s not sold locally though, I had to buy it from a reseller so that’s a bit of a challenge. I’m not itching to purchase more at the moment but we’ll see.. Has anyone of you tried it? What were your picks and what did you think?

7 thoughts on “Lipstick P/Review: Colourpop Lippie Stix in Lumiere

  1. They say this is an exact color dupe for NARS Anna, which I found difficult to photography, too because I lose the mauve in the pictures.

    • Yeahhh i read your Anna review! I was so annoyed the pictures turned out that way-coz i dont have a lot of time to take/retake photos! I agree the mauve got totally lost here, yours were way better pa!

Leave a Reply

