Face / Lipstick / Lipstick Lineup / Make up

Lipstick Lineup: Burt’s Bees Lip Colors

In my continuing effort to explore and be more adventurous with my beauty choices, I’m putting forth a post on non-matte lip things. I’m already a fan of Burt’s Bees, I practically only use Burt’s Bees for skin care. I subscribe to the whole feeding vs. fighting your skin idea and I just love how their products smell down to how they’re packaged. Anyway, lip things. These technically aren’t lipsticks, they are lipbalms and glosses which Burt’s Bees call “Lip Colors”. I like their whole take on cosmetics—Nature knows color. For beautiful color, we look to the original expert: nature. Now, ain’t that neat? I guess as you get older, the more these sorts of things appeal to you.
Clockwise from left: Burt’s Bees Lip Shine in Flutter, Tinted Lipbalms in Caramel Daisy and Rose, Lip Gloss in Ruby Moon

I couldn’t have gotten [the two of] these at a better time: I was pregnant and was on an all-natural, organic roll. I relied on these for my lip ‘enhancements’ as I was afraid of the lead and any such stuff finding its way to my pregnant belleh. Plus, oh man, I had the driest lips ever that time, probably hormone-related (isnt everything?)! These provided me comfort both for my dry lips and my paranoid preggy mind.

The stuff from Burt’s Bees are almost, if not 100% natural, meaning it’s food grade, sourced from natural ingredients. A full list of their readable ingredients is indicated on the packaging, but you don’t need to even read those because you will just feel that it is natural. The Lip Colors come in different variants—I only lack the Lip Shimmer, I think—depending on the type of finish/look you prefer.

Burt’s Bees Tinted Lip Balm in Rose

“For just a hint of color and a whole lot of conditioning.” 
Featured Ingredient: Shea Butter – A natural fat, Shea Butter comes from the fruit of the Karite tree. Moisture-rich and oh-so nourishing, it leaves your skin feeling soft and super supple. 

This is the “typical” lip balm we’re all familiar with, the type we all carried around in our pockets in highschool.. but that’s where the similarity ends. The Burt’s Bees lip balm applies buttery and doesnt have the waxy feel of typical balms, exactly because it contains shea butter, coconut oil, beeswax and other natural oils instead of the cheaper petrolatum (a petrol by-product) base. This texture allows the pigment to be deposited well and evenly, without looking too obvious. This particular color, Rose, is a lovely and believable pinky-red hue with a somewhat flat/moist-matte finish. It looks very flattering and oh-so-sweet.

Burt’s Bees Tinted Lip Balm in Caramel Daisy
With the same formula but in a much sheerer tint/color—actually, almost none, Caramel Daisy makes such a great nude! I use it with a nude lip liner just to take down the pigment on my lips and to give it a bit of a ‘finished’ look. I reached for this a lot while I was pregnant just cause I didnt feel like wearing any lip thing for most of my term, so this was perfect to carry around. If you like your lips as they are, this is a great moisturizing balm you can reapply a lot without worrying about ingesting it!

Burt’s Bees Lip Shine in Flutter 
“Moisturizing gloss with sheer color and sweet shine for naturally beautiful lips.” 
Featured Ingredient: Apricot Wax — Apricot Wax is a nourishing moisturizer with a fresh scent and delightful flavor for lips.

The Lip Shine offers a whole lot of glossy/glassy finish without glitter and much color. The type that would be a great lipstick topper, if you want that level of shine on your lips. Personally, I’m not a fan of this type of lip product as I need a certain level of coverage for my unevenly pigmented lips. As you can see, with the light reflected by the gloss, my lips look mottled and splotchy. This also has a sticky feel, as expected from high-shine finishes, but just the same maintains that level of moisturizing comfort.

Burt’s Bees Lipgloss in Ruby Moon
“Rich, pearlized color combines with natural oils rich in nutrients to leave your lips soft, shiny and 100% naturally beautiful.” 
Featured Ingredient: Sunflower Oil – Extremely nutritious, Sunflower Oil is easily absorbed and won’t leave skin feeling greasy. Even better, it’s rich in the essential fatty acid, Linoleic Acid, as well as Palmitic and Stearic Acids. All of which are important components to healthy looking, happy skin.

This was also one of my preggy favorites, as it gives a ripe, juicy kind of color without the stickiness of the usual lipgloss. This to me, has  the most balanced level of shine and pigment out of the three types as you’re sure to be getting both! I actually still use it now cause the color is just so flattering and healthy-looking on me, although I tend to use a very small amount (much less than how I wear it here) so I get more of a glossy stain. There’s a bit of shimmer which I guess you call pearl, which “fine-ness” I also like. I know you know I avoid lip glosses but if there’s one I’d prefer to wear, this would be it!

And those are my Burt’s Bees Lip Colors! I wonder how you like me/my lips with a bit of healthy glow vs my usual vamply mattes? Have you tried any of these, and which one do you like best?

PR Samples. Opinions are honest and entirely my own.

3 thoughts on “Lipstick Lineup: Burt’s Bees Lip Colors

  1. Pingback: It’s Beginning to Buzz A Lot Like Xmas: The Burt’s Bees #BeeMerry Sets! | an artechoke

  2. Pingback: Get #PhotoReady with #Instafixes from Revlon! | an artechoke

  3. Pingback: Get #PhotoReady with #Instafixes from Revlon! | an artechoke

Leave a Reply

