Face / Lipstick / Lipstick P/Review

Lipstick P/Review: Makeup Forever Rouge Artist Intense

Here’s a quick one. I got this lipstick a while ago, in Bangkok, where we took a quick “baby moon” before I gave birth. I have been obsessed with [getting] this for a while since it’s never available at our local MUFE stores (it is now, I think). Anyway, I got it cheaper there because of the tourist discount at Siam Paragon, which you should avail if you have plans of going—they’re very lenient, didnt even ask for my passport! 🙂

Makeup Forever Rouge Artist Intense Lipstick in MAT1

This is a great pinky nude color, for my complexion at least (check out an arm swatch on my IG here ). The MATs from the Rouge Artist Intense line are some of the best I’ve seen, and they’ve got varying shades of nudes I’m sure would fit a lot of skin tones. Sorry I tend to be very boring here on the blog; I keep talking about matte nudes all the time. But really that’s me, I prefer mattes over any other lipstick formula and nudes are just so so easy to pull of. This one in particular more so because of the rosy undertone, I never look washed out. I’m using it with a lip liner from Rimmel below, I think it’s Tiramisu. I’m sure you’ve seen me looking like this dozens of times before.

The texture on this MAT1 series is bone-dry. I’m not kidding! It’s like dragging a piece of chalk against your lips..and I love it! It’s packed with pigment, and it lasts on the lips forever. What’s not to love?

If you haven’t tried these MUFE MATs, you’re sorely missing out. But you have to be committed to the matte texture to really appreciate it. I’m not looking into buying another shade, having found my match in MAT1, but I am definitely re-purchasing before I use it all up. Have you tried the MATs from MUFE?

15 thoughts on “Lipstick P/Review: Makeup Forever Rouge Artist Intense

  1. I find matte nudes super challenging >.< I play it safe with NARS Tonkin but haven't dared explore what else is out there. This shade looks amazing on you — the challenge with nudes I find is that they can make your face look dull, but this one brightens your face up while looking super natural!

    • Hey, Bea! MUFE makes a similar MAT shade to Tonkin, I think. Anyway, I find that a rosy/peachy undertone to a nude shade makes it less deadening. I steer clear of yellowy/beigey ones!

  2. Can’t believe I haven’t tried any of MUFE’s matte lipsticks. Bone Dry Matte is my favorite lipstick formula, but same with Bea, I find lighter mattes difficult to appear nice on the lips. The last I bought was MAC Velvet Teddy and it wasn’t flattering. Will have to check this out.

    • Hi, Rae my fellow-matte lover! I was just looking (thinking of getting) at Velvet Teddy–that one has more of a mauve undertone, no? Anyway, in terms of texture, MUFE MATs are really superb!

      • It has a tiiiny hint of mauve, but not mauve enough for me. It also not the flattering type of nude matte. Thinking of checking out NARS Anita or Vanessa, not really matte but they’re super low shine satins… now I want to try MUFE instead. Since I’ve already experienced audacious 😛

  3. Another point for me to go ahead and just get the MUFE lippie I’ve been lusting after, although what I want isn’t a matte formula. Still, it looks amazing. 🙂

  4. Pingback: The Matte-est of My Matte Lipsticks | Scatterbraintures

  5. Pingback: Preview x Happy Skin’s Too Cool and Hot Stuff Matte Lip Crayons | Review and Swatches | Scatterbraintures

  6. loving this color! most of my nudes are really close to my skin color so I only use them when I have dark makeup on. But with this one, I think I’d be okay with just wearing it alone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

