Beauty Tools / Eyes / Face / Fashion / Hearts/Farts / Make up / Trend

Hearts/Farts: Smashbox Image Factory Photo Op Eyeshadow Palette and Air Blush

I just had to post a joint review of the Smashbox products I got way back—in case you’re missing makeup action around here. I got both of these on (hefty) sale at the Beauty Bar, I alerted you about it, remember?

DSC_0229

Anyway, I’ve been enjoying these tremendously and have gotten a lot of use out of them. I knoww, Smashbox is a really good mid-level brand and I really should pay more attention to their stuff! These are good discoveries, and I’ll tell you why.

DSC_0247

Smashbox Image Factory Photo Op Eyeshadow Palette, Php 795

The Photo Op Palette comes in a sleek plastic pan with a sizeable mirror (very useful) and a dual-ended brush (good quality, very useful). I guess part of the reason why I reach out for it so much is because it’s very handy and convenient to use, and it is quite an independent palette, color-wise. You have a nude beige base Alabaster, two crease/contour colors, the shimmery brown  Roast and shimmery gray Thunder, two definer colors a deep matte plum Black Currant and matte black Blackout and one minty highlight Seafoam. If you notice, you can do a warm eye look using the shadows on the left (Alabaster, Roast, Black Currant) and a cool eye look using (Thunder, Blackout, Seafoam). Or you can scrap that and do your thing. It’s quite versatile,  and having a few colors make it less confusing/intimidating, and easier to decide on. Sometimes you think you get better deal out of those mega palettes but then you end up confused and just leave it sitting pretty, unused. This 6-color palette is more than enough, I tell you.

DSC_0252

Here is a look I did using all the colors on the palette. This was kind of slap dash, following the lightest to darkest smoky rule, and well, applied Seafoam on the inner corner of my eyes. I used Blackout and Black Currant as liners. DSC_0246

DSC_0262

Here is another look, much subtle using three of the warm colors I mentioned above. The texture of these powders are top-notch: very pigmented, buttery and easy to blend-even without primer. I’d dare say better than the texture of my NARS The Happening Palette (which are a hit-or-miss, those NARS palettes). I really, really heart this palette, and more importantly, I get to USE it a lot. If you see this on Smashbox counters and (hopefully) still on sale, grab it already!

DSC_0258

Next up, this Smashbox product which I remember became quite popular way back. It was a good deal too, so I tossed it in the basket though I have more than enough cream blushes at my disposal. Oh well, beauty blogging…and necessary evils!

DSC_0234

Smashbox Image Factory Air Blush Whipped Cheek Color in Dusty Rose, Php 525 (after discount)

The Air Blush comes in wide and shallow pot, and in it a curious cream product. It is a cushiony type of cream which does feel whipped like mousse, not the usual cream blush in the market. It feels good to the touch, and applies like a dream, soft, blendable and powdery. So easy to apply, I’m confident to slap it on even without a mirror! Also because, it’s not very pigmented, which is a good/bad kind of thing. I have to use a lot of it to show up on my skin. The color seems to disappear upon blending, so I have to go at it a few times and it fades after a few hours, you definitely have to reapply within the day. The finish is  beautifully velvet/powdery, and never over the top, so if you’re not very good at applying blush, this is a fool-proof option. However, I’m on the slash with this one, only because no matter how nice it feels on the skin, I still prefer my blush to show up and stay down. I’m much confident recommending other cream blushes that perform well in these aspects.

DSC_0240

Overall, great deals! You should check out Beauty Bar as they have items all on sale all the time—you just have to sniff around the store a bit! I’m happy with these Smashbox items, and I’ve already included it in my routine mall brand-check. What are your favorite Smashbox products? Do share so I can check them out too!

3 thoughts on “Hearts/Farts: Smashbox Image Factory Photo Op Eyeshadow Palette and Air Blush

  1. Pingback: QMP: Featuring Laura Mercier Mini Caviar Sticks | an artechoke

Leave a Reply

