Beauty Tools / Eyes / Shopping

On A Holiday Gifting Guide: Shu Uemura x Murakami S-Curler

It’s December already! Can you feel how cool and nippy the air is?! Well, to sort of celebrate the season, I’ll be posting items that could be great gifts to yourself your friends! A gifting guide, if you will, but with a little review thrown in.

gifdt-Artichoke

So, a review! I have been a long-time Shu Uemura eyelash curler fan, in fact I am on my third pair: I lost the first one after years of use, and then used another one for 4+ years, and the last one, the gold one, I keep for backup (for everyday I’m now using Shiseido). So when Shu Uemura launched the new generation “S-Curler” I knew I would sooner or later get it, if only to have it (yeah, don’t be like me). And it only took a cutesy little keychain to push me over the edge (I told you, don’t be like me).  For those who follow me on Instagram, you know how I sort of tricked my husband into getting this for me, I told him I’m buying a “tool”. Categorically, it is, right?

DSC_0235

Shu Uemura Heart and Flower by Murakami S Curler, limited edition

How much? Php1000 

Where to buy? Shu Uemura counters (Powerplant, Glorietta, Shangrila)

Why this? It’s limited edition/it’s a collab with Takashi Murakami (if you know anyone who’s a fan but can’t afford his art, or his LV bag)/it’s CUTE!/it comes in a nice box you WONT have to wrap anymore, a ribbon would probably do

DSC_0249

The foremost reason why I like it is the size—this is small and slender compared to a regular sized curler, so I can bring it with me. The design also attempts at universality, since it has no predetermined curve, it can supposedly fit any eye shape/curvature, if only in small sections at a time. I also like that it has eliminated the side rails there’s less chance of getting the hair stuck. Lastly, this lets you work on specific sections of the lash line, and that’s usually at the outer corners.

DSC_0244

But let me tell you now, this takes a lot of getting used to, and it takes me a longer time to do my lashes. It takes about 4 squeezes per eye, and even then I still need to go over the wonky parts. This isn’t the fastest way to do my lashes, is what I’m saying. Though typical of Shu curlers, the curl lasts well and good.

DSC_0171

Though nothing a good eyelash curler cant do, I still think this makes a good gift to a close friend, a sister, or a kikay boss. It’s not a must have but it’s something nice to have…just the perfect little Christmas gift!

2 thoughts on “On A Holiday Gifting Guide: Shu Uemura x Murakami S-Curler

  1. Pingback: On A Holiday Gifting Guide: The Cream Factory | an artechoke

Leave a Reply

