Beauty Tools / Event / Eyes / Face / Make up

Hearts/Farts: Eye of Horus Liquid Define Pen Eyeliner

First review off of my Eye of Horus event loot is one of these items:

DSC_0204

I actually got two Goddess pencils and one pen liner,  the latter of which I’ll review for you today.

DSC_0216

Eye of Horus Liquid Define Pen Liner, Php990 

Amazingly easy to use Liquid Define is smudge-proof, waterproof and long lasting. With its felt tip pen applicator, it glides on without creasing on the lid, always delivering a sharp, defined line.

DSC_0228

The Liquid Define is a pen-type liquid eyeliner with a reversible felt-tip applicator. I’ll be honest, I’m not a fan of felt tip pens, with makeup at least. In my career life, felt tip pens are the easier type to sketch with but with makeup it can be a bit, stiff. In other words, I don’t like the Sharpie-esque feel on my skin that’s why I don’t buy liners of this particular type.

But enough about that, lets talk about this beauty-type of marker, the Liquid Define. Right away, it perked my interest because it is so dark and opaque, unlike other pen-type liners I’ve swatched before.

DSC_0183

DSC_0182

Here I’ve applied the product over a MAC Paint Pot and it marked without a hitch, the line was intense and definite although I tend to pat the tip on first before drawing a smooth line to build and draw the shape that I like. I had trouble applying this liner at first because I’m not used to the unwieldy tip, so I find this technique easier rather than trying to get one long perfect line. And then I usually spend couple of strokes perfecting the tail. With felt-tip pens, you have to really draw on the shape, you cant just swoosh it. The tentativeness (i.e. nginig) of your stroke will show.

DSC_0185

What else I’m wearing: Etude House Precious Minerals Brightening BB Cream, Majolica Majorca Blood On, Shu Uemura Hard 9 Brow Pencil in Acorn, MAC Paint Pot in Painterly, NYX Wonder Pencil in Medium, The Face Shop Freshian Volume Mascara, ZA Plumper Lips in Sunset Coral

DSC_0188

Here’s a closeup. (Off topic: are my lashes long yet?) Anyway, you can see how I was able to make a somewhat solid line with a tiny flick at the end. That’s the upside of pens though, you can control the tiniest stroke a thickness of the line. However, I noticed after a few uses that the tip has worn down a bit, as is typical of felt-types. But not to worry!

Liquid Define’s pen-like tip gives better control and comes with a reversible tip. You can extract the tip using tweezers and flip it around and you’ve got a brand new tip! Eye of Horus Liquid Define can be “primed” keep the liquid through to the tip of the felt pen, open and turning cap upside down to make a “cup” bend the tip slightly to point down inside the cupped lid to push liner liquid to tip. This will keep the liquid in the barrel filled to the tip, and a beautiful full line.

DSC_0196

 

Perhaps the greatest upside of the Liquid Define is the long-wearing time. I had a hectic 12 hours the day I was wearing it: went to the weekend market, went to pick up some desserts for a family gathering, went to that family gathering, walked two dogs, had a foot spa. And I only had to retouch the tail, once.  Even better, I only used warm water to take it off!

Of course, I heart the Eye of Horus Liquid Define pen. It takes practice, since I’m used to brush-type pens, but the resulting line–its opacity and longevity–makes it worth my time! I’ve been using this as a filler too, since the hard tip makes it easier to wiggle in between my lashes. Try this if you’re having a hard time with other liner types, it just might be the pen for you!

Eye of Horus is being sold online, at Glamourbox.ph and soon at select Snoe Beauty stores.

3 thoughts on “Hearts/Farts: Eye of Horus Liquid Define Pen Eyeliner

  1. Pingback: Hearts/Farts: Eye Of Horus Goddess Pencils | an artechoke

Leave a Reply

