Brows / Face / Fashion / Full Makeup Post / Lipstick / NARS / Personality / Trend

FMP: Cara Delevingne Bright Lips

I have been meaning to do a Cara D. FMP for the longest time, but I’ve been stalled for one reason or another. She isn’t really my favorite or anything, but since I love doing brows so much, I thought I should do a look inspired by her–the brow bee. And well, Fashion Week has been happening on the other side of the world!

Cara-Delevingne

I chose this photo because it’s simple yet packs a strong statement. I like uncomplicated looks, and while this would allow me to focus on brows more, it’s also easily adaptable to look just as nicely fashionable sans the strong brow. I mean, if you don’t want brows, obviously you can do the lip.

DSC_0203

First, I applied Sephora’s Base Sublimatrice Primer all over my face, putting additional layers on the cheeks, cheekbones and down the center of my face. The face seems to be lit from within, so I wanted to put as much illumination on the base as possible. Then I applied my equally brightening Etude House Precious Mineral Bright Fit BB Cream, followed by Collection Illuminating Touch Brightening Concealer on my under eyes and sides of the nose. I want a bright, clear, hopefully youthful complexion.

DSC_0143

Next, I worked on my browsโ€”the first attraction of this look. Using a sharp Face Shop Style My Brow pencil, I traced a line on the bottom, which is deliberately lower and longer than my natural brows (a). Using short, feathery upward and sideward strokes, I built up the thickness of my brows from this bottom guide line (b). To deepen and add dimension, I applied brow powder over the pencil lines (c) using the Pinkies Collection brow powder, blending with a spoolie all the while. Lastly, I brushed the eyebrow hairs upward (d) using a clear ELF Brow and Lash gel.

brows copy

With the brows done, I applied more of the Sephora highlighter on my lids, curled my lashes and lined my lower water line with the Nichido Concealer pencil.

DSC_0167

Because I want lush-than-usual lashes, I applied two mascarasโ€”first, the Estee Lauder Double Wear for length and definition and then the Maybelline Hyper Curl Volum Express for volume on both my upper and lower lashes.

DSC_0174

On to the next attraction, the lips. For hot pink lips, NARS Semi-matte lipstick in Schiap cant be beat, it’s the best there is! I applied two coats. I also swiped on a contouring bronzer on the hollows of my cheeks as a finishing touch.

DSC_0220

As a side note: Cara is a top notch model with gorgeous blonde locks, we all know that, so the goal is not to look alike. Also, these brows are not for the shy, specially if you have so little to begin with. But this look should work just as well with not too beefed up brows, just adapt to it to your natural shape and go as far as you feel like.

DSC_0188DSC_0187

That’s it, I hope you enjoyed this FMP! Is this something you see yourself wearing?

DSC_0201

5 thoughts on “FMP: Cara Delevingne Bright Lips

  1. This post reminded me that I needed to groom my brows. Whoops! :)) I like your interpretation, you made the photo peg look very doable.

    And love how you can really see the effect of the bronzer in photos! I’ve yet to learn how to contour properly.

    • Hi, Kari, thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚ You know the best contouring trick is still to suck your cheeks in and put your brush right in there! But the perfect shade of contouring powder is a must! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: On The Year That Was: An Artechoke’s 2013 Highlights | an artechoke

Leave a Reply

