Face / Fashion / Lipstick / Lipstick P/Review / MAC / Make up / Shopping / Trend

Lipstick P/Review: RiRi Hearts MAC Lipstick in Heaux

I caved in, I had to join in the RiRi rally because I can’t call myself a proper matte lipstick lover and not get at least one from the all-matte summer release of the Rihanna and MAC collaboration. (Although there’s still the Retro Matte Collection due out soon-god help me!)

DSC_2139

RiRi Hearts MAC Lipstick in Heaux, Php1100 (online reseller)

Right away, I knew I wanted Heaux. It’s an intriguing color, one that I always get drawn to and which is what made me a bit apprehensive at first. I read two local beauty blogger reviewsβ€”Julia of Bless My Bag, and Tina of What Tina Lovesβ€”which made me decide to finally get it. Only thing is, it looks different on every review and swatch I saw, and it’s not like I can exactly swatch the online exclusive lipstick myself. I only took comfort with the fact that it’s Retro Matte, a MAC formula I love and am comfortable with. So, throwing caution to the wind, I clicked ORDER.

DSC_2146

And what blind luck! The color was everything I hoped it would be! A deep, berry hue that’s bold and lively, Heaux reminds me of another favorite, my Giorgio Armani Rouge D’armani in 402/em>. However, Heaux applies true-to-matte and lacks that moist, subtle sheen. I find this to be easier to apply than my other Retro Matte, Ruby Woo. I’ve swatched all three for you to see:

DSC_2132

L-R: Giorgio Armani Rouge D’Armani in 402, RiRi hearts MAC in Heaux, MAC Ruby Woo

DSC_2205

In these photos, I applied Heaux straight from the bullet, without balm or lip liner. This is about two coatsβ€”the first one as a base layer and then I built up the color, minding the follow shape of my lips.

DSC_2206

As with MAC’s matte lipsticks, the staying power on this is tops. If you don’t eat anything it’ll stay put for hours and hours. I just love the formula, it goes on even and flat, then sets to a budge-proof, powdery finish.

DSC_2204

I’m really thrilled with this lipstick, it’s an instant favorite! I hope this makes it to the permanent collection because it is a gorgeous, gorgeous red. Of course I’m biased because I love matte lipsticks, but just look at that color, and tell me I’m being unfair!

13 thoughts on “Lipstick P/Review: RiRi Hearts MAC Lipstick in Heaux

    • P.S. Off-topic: I’m sorry to say I caved in on my no-buy, but I’m not sorry about what I bought!! I availed of the Clinique bonus–could not resist those moisture-rich samples πŸ˜€ haha

      • Hey Kari, the short answer is, yes, I LOVE mattes! It’s okay about your no-buy, skin care related purchases are almost always a good choice no matter what. πŸ™‚

  1. Pingback: On The Year That Was: An Artechoke’s 2013 Highlights | an artechoke

Leave a Reply

