Beauty Tools / Event / Eyes / Face / Make up / Trend

On Going Day To Night With Estee Lauder: Overview and Makeup Looks

Gosh, I’m sorry for only getting to share this now! This has been one of the best gifts I received over the holidays, from one my bestest friends Albert. I think it was one of Estee Lauder’s holiday sets from  2012

DSC_1933 (2)

The set comes in a patent pouch and in it comes miniatures of Pure Color Eyeshadow Palette, Double Wear Zero-Smudge Lengthening Mascara, Stay-in-place Flawless Concealer in Light Medium and Double Wear Stay-in-place Eye Pencil in Onyx.

I still plan to put out reviews for at least the concealer and mascara but let me share with you two looks using these items and what I think about each of them.

DAY LOOK

This look is just about right for days at the office, at the mall, or coffee with friends. It’s a clean, fresh and easy look to wear during the day..when you need to be at least wearing makeup but easy to maintain and touch up. I personally would just retouch the lipstick as needed.

DSC_0092

I used my Etude House Precious Mineral Bright Fit BB cream as a base for both day and night looks, followed by the Estee Lauder Stay-in-place Flawless Concealer in Light Medium on my under eyes and sides of the nose. This is  lovely concealer, a bit thicker than MAC Moisturecover although just as blendable, and covers really very well. This concealer sets and stays, so it’s great to use for long days and special occasions.

DSC_1940 (2)

For the eyes, I used the lightest champagne color (Sugar Biscuit, Satin) as wash all over my lids, and the middle brown shadow (Hot Cinnamon, Shimmer) to lightly contour my socket. That also goes on my outer lower lid. I patted the light pink color (Tranquil Moon, Satin) on the middle of the lids for some color.

DSC_0082

Lastly, I tight lined my upper waterline three-quarters of the way out with the Double Wear Stay-in-place Eye Pencil in Onyx. This pencil is gorgeous, it marks so easily and darkly that you wont have to go over the line more than once. I curled my lashes then applied a single coat of the Double Wear Zero-Smudge Lengthening Mascara. This has been my mascara for some months now, I really like how it makes my lashes long, black and separated.

DSC_0081

What else: Avon Perfect Brown Pencil, light pink blush from Victoria’s Secret palette, Revlon Just Bitten Lip Balm Stain in Honey

NIGHT LOOK

If you need to kick up your day look a notch or two for a night time engagement—a dinner, party, cocktails, hot date—you’d be needing a few other stuff apart from this Estee Lauder set. For me, nothing is easier than to execute a quick smoky eye to take your look from day to night; if push comes to shove, a dark pencil is all you’ll need!

DSC_0196

For the eyes, I took the Double Wear Stay-in-place Eye Pencil in Onyx all over my upper and lower lash lines, pulling the line up as in a cat eye. I really believe this pencil is blue-black, especially when you smudge it out. I applied the darkest shadow (Intense Violet, matte)  over the line to set and blend the liner.

DSC_0208

Afterwards, I took the two darkest colors (Intense Violet, matte and Newport Blue, matte) from the Pure Color Eyeshadow Palette and applied it on the outer V’s and the lower lash line. This cute little box is a genius mix of shimmery neutrals and deep matte eye shadows with great pigmentation and texture. The matte ones takes a bit of rubbing in to show through, which is just as well as that wont translate to nasty fallouts. You might also need to use kinda small brushes as some of the shadows in the pan are small and thus, hard to pick up.

DSC_0209

I finished it off with additional coats of Double Wear Zero-Smudge Lengthening Mascara on the upper and lower lashes. I darkened my brows a bit more, put on some contouring bronzer and switched to a nude pink matte lipstick.

DSC_0215

What else: H&M Bronzing Powder in Gorgeous Tan, MAC Lip Liner in Subculture, Rimmel x Kate Moss matte lipstick in 102.

All in all, this Estee Lauder set rocks! It’s a nifty little set that covers pretty much what you’ll be needing for a day-to-night affair (of course assuming you have your lipstick, blush, brow and foundation things with you). I love that the eye shadow palette is small, yet versatile enough to generate many looks, more so when paired with the amazing blue-black Onyx pencil, which I feel brings the brown out of my eyes more. I’ll be doing, hopefully, separate reviews for the items—now, which would you want to read about first?

One thought on “On Going Day To Night With Estee Lauder: Overview and Makeup Looks

  1. Pingback: Hearts/Farts: Estee Lauder Double Wear Mascara | an artechoke

Leave a Reply

