Beauty Tools / Lipstick / Lipstick P/Review / Make up / Trend

Lipstick P/Review: OCC Lip Tar in NSFW

Okay, BROW BREAK!

I have longed for an OCC Lip Tar since I learned of its existence (which isn’t really too long ago), but acquiring it was such a hassle: it wasn’t available locally, I wasn’t too familiar with local reseller shopping then, ladida. Then when it was being offered locally by resellers, I would be kuripot and not order because it was marked up to about 900-1000 (US $18 at the OCC website). E when I saw a box of  Lip Tars lying conveniently by the Pure Beauty counter in Serendra for Php715—that’s a clear enough GO signal for me!

DSC_2097

OCC Lip Tar in NSFW, Php715 at Pure Beauty, Serendra

The color is described as, plain and simple, true red. And you know what, I’m not even gonna beg to differ. It’s red. OCC is a vegan and cruelty-free company, if I may add, so I feel particularly good about the pigmentation on it and such.

DSC_2077 (2)

But perhaps what requires more blog space is the application and wear of this lip thing. I thought it was going to set to a matte finish but it did not. It wore a bit moist and tacky, with a lovely dewy sheen. Being the matte-lover that I am, it was quite a surprise how I liked this finish, it looks, uh, healthier.

DSC_2079

One minor caveat though—you truly need to apply this with a brush, otherwise a very lethal pigmented drop on your finger could end up everywhere. You also cant get a decent shape with just dabbing this on (unless you want a stain effect). I use an old, thoroughly cleaned Maybelline gel eyeliner brush ( I have a few of those as the gel in the pots have long dried up) which applies the color quite alright.

DSC_2076 (2)

Lasting power was not as great as I expected, longer than a usual tube of lipstick, but shorter than say MAC’s Ruby Woo. I like it,  I’m enjoying the novelty and finish of it, but I don’t expect the affair to last, I’ll still reach for my mattes, I know it. I’m curious to try the lighter hues..will maybe go back to check those out. What do you think, have you tried these Lip Tars?

10 thoughts on “Lipstick P/Review: OCC Lip Tar in NSFW

  1. This is so purty! I get turned off when resellers sell it too much :/ Is that store the when were Makeup Designory is? I always thought they price their products way higher than resellers. I saw a UD Naked Palette selling for almost 4K! Thanks for the tip! Will visit the store soon! Yay 🙂

      • Yeah! I think I’ve gotten better at spotting good from bad deals..I bought the Naked2 for 2,700–I searched high and low muna! 🙂 Yes, that store on the second level of Serendra, limited colors but their OCC lip tars are particularly cheap, other stuff not so. 😐

    • Hi, Wiji, yes, go check them out! I saw some nice peachy nudes and pinks e, but there werent too many choices, it was just a small box. 🙂

Leave a Reply

