Beauty Tools / Face / Skin Care

On The New Kiehl’s BB Cream: Thoughts From A Sample

When I first learned of Kiehl’s foray into the BB world, I was quite torn. I’ve always believed that BB creams are some sort of an Asian stronghold, and as such, I am skeptical of Western brands doing the BB. But Kiehl’s is such a dear brand to me (I’ve been using Crème de Corps forever!), I believe they are serious about their R&D, so I knew I had to give them a chance and try their new baby BB:

DSC_2074

Kiehl’s Actively Correcting & Beautifying BB Cream in Natural, 5ml sample size

“…In a formula that offers lightweight, yet buildable coverage, developed with amino acid coated natural mineral pigments, Kiehl’s Actively Correcting & Beautifying BB Cream conceals imperfections while working to correct skin discolorations.

Additional benefits include reducing the appearance of pores and fine lines while providing all-day hydration and broad-spectrum SPF 50/ PA+++ protection.

In an industry achievement, Kiehl’s chemists have developed a formula that would typically separate. Beginning with a highly acidic, unstable Vitamin C combined with natural mineral pigments, they achieved what to date has been vexing in product development techniques: a cohesive, stable and gentle, yet effective formula.

The advancement of this development continued with the noticeably light, moisturizing texture accomplished by Kiehl’s chemists – in spite of Kiehl’s use of a higher SPF sunscreen protection…”

I lifted the literature from Joey, I just thought it interesting and informative. I got my sample at the Powerplant store, I expressed how I want to really try the product first before purchasing one (because it IS pricey—Php 1995 for 30ml) so I got color matched and was given a small sample to take home!

DSC_2081

Off the bat, I love the texture and consistency of the cream. It is light and cool to the touch, and the shade is not a scary kind of beige-y gray. It blends in easily and sort of disappears to a satin finish, but interesting enough, lending decent coverage.

DSC_2082

I’m not wearing face powder in these photos, just a bit of illuminating powder on the tops of my cheeks. But you can see how finished I look here!

DSC_2122

What kills me is that this has SPF50! All that sans the nasty smell, white cast or sticky feel. It does/I do get a bit oily after a few hours, but I can just powder by then. I don’t feel like I’m wearing a ton with this on, also coz I only need a pea sized amount for my entire face. I’m afraid this isn’t much of a coverage product, although it evens out the skin tone nicely.

DSC_2154

I really think (or at least I would like to believe) that BB creams should be as much as a skin care as it is a cosmetic product. I do not apply a lot to my face so I rely on it to offer more than just a glowing coverage. Comfort and sun protection are on the top of my list this summer, and I’m hopeful that the Kiehl’s Actively Correcting and Beautifying BB Cream will deliver. I might say for its SPF level, this is the best in its class that I’ve tried so far.

I’m definitely getting a full-sized tube when I run out of my favorite BB creams or on my next trip abroad (whichever comes first). Unless I come across a cheaper, Asian-made with just as much SPF,  and just as light-wearing (heh).  Thanks for reading!

12 thoughts on “On The New Kiehl’s BB Cream: Thoughts From A Sample

      • The texture is thick but a little goes a long way 🙂 It doesn’t give me the white cast but I can’t generalize 🙂 That’s my go-to BB cream, so far, because the coverage is great without feeling heavy plus the SPF factor 🙂

    • Hi Katsy, hay dont we all?! 😐 This doesn’t cover eyebags although it evens out skin tone well enough so concealing is a little bit easier. I still use a bit of my Bourjois Healthy Mix concealer pen on my under eyes when I use this. 🙂

      • Haha miracle product kasi gusto ko ung tipong isa lang talaga tapos tapos na! Wishful thinking sobra! I need to get my correct shade for MAC’s concealer. I find it the best pa din and easy to apply, un nga lang wrong shade ung pinadala sa kin. I haven’t tried Bourjois though

      • I use Banila Co’s BB Cream pala. I’m still adjusting to its texture and finish but it covers up eyebags. I still like Laura Mercier’s Tinted Moisturizer though. Mas effortless. Yun nga lang may eyebags heheh

  1. Which MAC concealer are you using? Hehe, yeah trial and error talaga..you might try putting on the concealer first and then your BB cream and blend again. Baka mas better and finish and coverage. 🙂

    • I use MAC pro longwear concealer. Ok ako sa coverage niya and matagal mawala haha. Un nga lang mali ung shade na pinadala sa kin kaya I have to get my own. Hmmm I’ll try that nga. I always apply BB cream first. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

