Eyes / Face / Hearts/Farts / Make up / Nails

On A Tony Moly Haul: A Short Group Review

Perhaps I haven’t told you but I am a Tony Moly fan. Well, I like Korean cosmetics in general but I feel the most affinity to Tony Moly because I feel that the mature, modern product lines  (with generally black packaging) are closer to my sensibilities. I’m not exactly princessy-cute material, if you know what I mean. Anyway, when I met with my parents for dinner weeks back, I passed by a Tony Moly boutique shop—not a stall at a department store, but a full-blown, stand-alone shop. And you know what happens next.

DSC_1954

Clockwise from left: Pencil sharpener, Lovely Eyebrow Pencil in Shade 5, Cats Wink Shiny Skin Foundation in Shade 3, Party Lover Coloring Browcara in Gray Brown, Nail Enamel

For your reference, I’m wearing the foundation, the brow pencil and mascara below and a list of my thoughts below:

DSC_2144

1. Tony Moly Cats Wink Shiny Skin Foundation in Shade 3 (Php378) – perhaps the best discovery of this haul, this ‘foundation’ is thick, pigmented and sets in to an even almost flawless base. Do not confuse this with BB cream, it’s not. I don’t quite understand the “shiny skin” bit, but it has SPF 20, and is devoid of artificial dyes, mineral, petrolatum, etc. I find that I can get away with a few drops of this, otherwise I end up with a really mask-like effect. I’ve been using this a lot!

DSC_1987

2. Tony Moly Lovely Eyebrow Pencil Shade 5 (Php148) – I’ve been using this since the past year and I just restocked. I like the shade and the texture of this pencil, and that it’s cheap too considering it comes with decent packaging and a spoolie brush.

3. Tony Moly Cats Party Lover Coloring Browcara in Gray Brown (Php348) – this has a gorgeous taupe shade with NO shimmer, as in most brow mascaras. The brush is ingenious and quite similar to the NARS brow mascara!

4. Tony Moly Nail Enamel Trendy in Mud (Php98) – Cheap, trendy nail polish shades! The texture is quite thick but not streaky which is good enough for me. I’m thinking of getting a few other shades from the Trendy line.

Tony Moly Enamel Trendy in Khaki worn with Seche Vite Top Coat

DSC_2153

That’s it for now. I might do separate reviews, time-permitting! Now, I’m off to watch the Oscars!!

6 thoughts on “On A Tony Moly Haul: A Short Group Review

  1. My only beef with Korean makeup lines is that they never ever have powder or foundation shades for my skin tone. Meh, what’re you gonna do, right?

    • Hi, P! True, this is already the darkest shade available! I sometimes just powder over it (my shade of powder) or contour with a matte bronzing powder to make up for the shade deficiency. And I’m planning to darken up a bit this summer at that. Beach please!

  2. Wow interesting buys… I haven’t tried the brand but I think I will start with that eyebrow pencil and foundation. Cool! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

