Beauty Tools / Face / Hearts/Farts / Make up / Skin Care

Hearts/Farts: L’Oreal Lucent Magique BB Cream

I thought of doing this review first because this product has got me quite intrigued, as I’m sure you are too. I have long put my faith on BB creams, I’m taken with how easy, how natural it feels and looks. So naturally, any other iteration of the big BB idea is welcome in my book. How does this sound to you?

p1p2

Images: ginevi.wordpress.com

Yeah, so when I saw the actual product on the shelf, I knew I had to have a go at it. Although this hasn’t been too new to me, I have been contemplating about getting the Shu Uemura Stage Performer, a product exactly like this one. I’m glad there’s finally a drugstore equivalent!

DSC_1959

L’Oreal Lucent Magique Skin Illuminating BB Cream, $13.00 at Duty Free (Php695 at local L’Oreal counters)

“…The innovative self-evolving texture debuts as a moist milky-white cream, infused with intuitive BB capsules that encapsulates exclusive skin-perfecting pigments. Upon blending with the skin, the fresh cream intuitively evolves into a naturally lucent skin tone coverage – specific for Asian skin tones.

A new generation of BB end-look. Skin is magically enlivened, transformed, diffusing a lit-from-within complexion. Use as last step to skincare, or layer before foundation.”

So, let’s talk about the Lucent: housed in the typical plastic squeeze tube which dispenses little amount of product through it’s small pin opening. It contains 30mL, and with SPF20.

DSC_1900 (2)

The BB capsule-infused cream looks white out of the tube with little specks that release a faint color when pressed/worked into the skin. There is very minimal noticeable pigmentation, although a very obvious sheen can be seen. That said, this is not a coverage product, but maybe more of a primer/highlighter. I’m wearing Lucent by itself, below:

DSC_1911 (2)

It does feel light and non-greasy on the face, but I hardly noticed any mind-blowing difference, visually at least.There is a certain amount of glow, which reflects light making pores/imperfections appear less obvious but it’s so faint, I would think I’m probably imagining things. I dunno, you tell me, do you see anything extraordinary?

Anyway, I applied my MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural (+NARS blush) powder on top of the Lucent to set:

DSC_1928 (2)

I think applying an additional layer of coverage product greatly improved the Lucent‘s performance, making me even more inclined to think it more suitable as a primer. I like how it looks here, but then again it just might be the MAC MSFN giving my face a nice finish.

DSC_1929 (2)

An Artechoke Hearts/Farts? On the slash. I kinda had high hopes for this one, but it fell a bit short. It does not offer any practical coverage, so it’s better not to call it a BB cream. What it is, in my opinion, is a primer, a highlighting, non-silicon primer/perfector, which might benefit those with okay skin to begin with. So, let’s just call an apple an apple. However, I appreciate the boost of skin care, radiance and skin tone unifying it gives. I can actually use it as it is for a bare skin look (which is, by the way, is very much in fashion now), or for when my skin gets dull. What’s sort of eating me is that I can probably fake the glow and get coverage with other BB creams/foundations without this extra step. So, for an added boost of radiance and skin care, this is really okay, but not something you necessarily have to have (specially since it’s more expensive locally).

5 thoughts on “Hearts/Farts: L’Oreal Lucent Magique BB Cream

    • Hey there! I’m glad it works for you! πŸ™‚ I’m probably just too lazy for this product but I’m still using it anyway, I’m still waiting for the a-ha moment.

      • I don’t really care for the brightening or anything like that~ I’m just using it as a primer πŸ˜€

  1. Pingback: On Natural, Skin-Like Makeup With MAC Quite Natural Paint Pot « an artechoke

Leave a Reply

