Beauty Tools / Eyes / Make up

Still On Brows, and the Pinkie Swear Powder Eyebrow Pencil

What, another eyebrow post in less than a week?

But, just look at that—powder eyebrow pencil? Of course I was intrigued and of course like a magpie to glitter, I bought one. It was, afterall, kinda cheap. I was going around the beauty counters at SM Department Store, waiting for my dog to be done at the groomers, when I picked this up. Pinkie Swear seemed like a cosmetics line for the youngsters, and I’m sorry to not have a lot of info about it. But it’s there by the local cosmetics brands.

DSC_0249

Pinkie Swear Powder Eyebrow Pencil in Light Brown, Php99 at SM Department Stores

DSC_0248

Again, same thing, pencil and brush on opposite ends, but this is quite long, at 2.2g (the usual pencil is like, 1.4). Though not much can be said about the flimsy brush (I suppose you can use your other eyebrow brushes), the pencil can very well stand on its own. I don’t know what “powder eyebrow pencil” means but the formula on this is quite hard but not chalky. It’s rather sticky actually, but it gives consistently pigmented strokes. I swatched a couple of my brow pencils for comparison, below:

DSC_0191

Top: Pinkie Swear Powder Eyebrow Pencil in Light Brown; Middle: Avon Perfect Eyebrow Pencil in Dark Brown; Bottom: MAC Brow Pencil in Lingering

In terms of pigmentation, Pinkie Swear gives the most amount, and  lasts longer than Avon Perfect Eyebrow. The color is a tad warmer/redder than what I would normally go for, I like the Avon. To be honest, MAC’s Lingering is the happy medium of all brow pencils for me—not too warm, not too pigmented and draws the most consistent strokes. But I digress. Here’s the Pinkie Swear Powder Eyebrow Pencil worn by itself:

DSC_1866

I wont be dispensing eyebrow application how-tos here, because, my brows are a working progress. What I will tell you is, try to assess your brow situation first—do you need more or less of it? If less, you should seek professional waxing/shaping services (although I’m much of a brow-control freak to let others touch mine) and then work on keeping that shape via brow tints and gels. If more, experiment with brow products to get the most believable shape and shade for you. I find brow powders easiest to work with, given the right brush for application.  Some like to plot the shape with a pencil first then fill in with powder. Pencils and pens on their own need a lot of getting used to. In this case, practice really does make perfect. It helps to save photos for brow inspiration (spoken like a true brow-geek)!

And as for the Pinkie Powder Eyebrow Pencil, at 99 pesos, and with three available shades, you cant go wrong. Chalk it up under brow collaterals! How about you, what’s your brow weapon of choice?

2 thoughts on “Still On Brows, and the Pinkie Swear Powder Eyebrow Pencil

Leave a Reply

