Bangkok / Food / Lipstick / Revlon / Travel / Trend

On Bangkok Sweets and A QMP Extra

Hi guys, if you’re reading this from Manila, I hope you’re somewhere warm and safe. And while we’re all hoping/praying for better weather, allow me to segue into a bit of a distraction. And what better distraction than food—specifically, Bangkok sweet spots and things. I’m terribly missing Bangkok and Thai food, I haven’t had appetite for much else.

In the newer Bangkok malls you’ll find Farm Design, a hip Japanese coffee shop with Hokkaido milk/cheese as its star ingredient. They serve many cheesecake variants, cheese brownies, cheese croissants, etc. This particular Hokkaido cheesecake isn’t too sweet or tart, just enough flavor with a rather hard, creamy texture. I like that you can taste the milk with no overwhelming flavor; the biscuit-y crust is just a subtle.

DSCF5103

Doi Chang, a local coffee shop, serves this unbelievably simple yet delectable crepe cake with strawberry syrup on the side. The syrup itself is a treat (runny, sour with just a hint of sweetness), but the cake, with all its thin, soft layers and vanilla cream is pure heaven. I think I’ve found my new favorite dessert!

DSCF5064

On the end of the sweet spectrum are these local treats from our trip to Ayutthaya, a province outside of Bangkok. Below is a perfect afternoon dessert, served after a late seafood lunch on the riverside: santol in syrup! Shreds of santol flesh in a thin, sugary syrup perfectly chilled and crackling on top:

DSC_1982

Another sweet snack I sampled in the province was this spun sugar wrapped in a thin pancake/crepe from a Thai-Muslim shop. I loved it so much I brought a pack home with me (and did the wrapping bit myself, so fun!).

DSC_1996

I’m also sharing here one of the many variations of this basic look, one that I usually pull off during the many days of food adventures in the city.

DSC_1844 (2)

What I’m wearing: La Roche Posay Anthelios XL SPF50, Garnier BB Cream, Her Bench Lip and Cheek Tint, MAC Brow Set in Girl Boy, MAC Paint Pot in Bare Study, K-Palette Real Lasting Liquid Eyeliner in Super Black, Revlon Matte Lipstick in Strawberry Suede

DSC_1845 (2)

Like I said, I’ve done this look numerous times, it’s almost a default. That’s the great thing about a bright lip, you don’t need a lot else—all attention goes to the lips. And sometimes, with the right shade, you look instantly fresher and well, a bit sweeter. Stay safe guys, keep alert and ready. The world [weather] isn’t what it used to be.

Leave a Reply

