Bangkok / Beauty Tools / Face / Make up

On RMK Smoothing Polished Base: Initial Impressions And Swatches

I got this RMK product for my sister, she asked me to get it for her as it’s not available where she is. I asked her if I can do a review on it, so here we are. I have started writing this in Bangkok as well as a few other posts which I’ll be posting from today.

The RMK Smoothing Polished Base is a new addition to RMK’s line of infamous makeup bases. RMK is a Japanese cosmetics brand which stands for Rumiko, the makeup brand’s founder—a NY-based makeup artist. I’m actually a bit psyched to get to know RMK’s products, via samples I discussed here. I’m equally as excited to tell you about this product now.

DSC_2016

RMK Smoothing Polished Base, 1,150 Baht

DSC_2019

It comes in a plastic tube with a little nozzle that dispenses a small dollop of product. I like how small and slim the packaging is. At 20 mL, it is very portable for travel, even for your everyday purse although I can’t imagine reapplying makeup base during the day.

DSC_2021

The product comes out a a thick peachy-beige cream, almost paste-like in texture actually. Initially, spreading the product results in dry, powdery/solid patches:

DSC_2022

But further blending results to a fine even surface which is smooth to touch and velvety in finish.

DSC_2023

Here’s a finished look using this particular RMK base under my MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Medium. Using a pea-sized amount, I smoothed it out the center of my face and my cheeks where I have quite visible pores. I used my fingers, I reckon it would be quite impossible to apply this otherwise, given its gummy texture. Like illustrated above, this takes a bit of effort blending in to get an even, close to invisible finish.

DSC_1850

I’m posting detailed account using this RMK base up next, but cutting through the chase, here’s what I think:

An Artechoke Hearts/Farts? Hearts, but not without reservations. The product, being a makeup base gives a smooth, almost pore-less appearance when set/used with foundation or powder. The thick, powdery texture works well with oily skin and keeps the makeup matte and glowing for a good couple of hours, I believe I did not touch up the whole day. However, I find it too dry and unyielding, hence there’s bound to be some uneven patches. So, it’s worth to get if only to see these results but expect to put in a good bit of effort.

RMK is available at Emporium, Siam Paragon and Central Chit Lom (all in Bangkok).

2 thoughts on “On RMK Smoothing Polished Base: Initial Impressions And Swatches

  1. Pingback: On RMK Smoothing Polished Based: A Complete Look And Some Thoughts « an artechoke

  2. Pingback: On A Collective Haul: Makeup from Bangkok and Singapore « an artechoke

Leave a Reply

