Beauty Tools / Eyes / Face / Skin Care / Travel

On Travel Essentials: The Non-Makeup

Finally back in Manila!

I have to say that even though I enjoyed every minute of my travel, nothing beats being home. BUT, I refuse to accept that we have been reduced to a country of unruly and opportunistic cads (which was the case upon I touched down—passengers cutting lines, taxi ‘hawkers’ and metered yellow taxis not using their meters on the sly! What have we come to?

But this isn’t about that and Manila, rather about my travels in Thailand, with its old-world charm, vibrant culture and gentle people. I can easily imagine myself living there if not Manila…

The ruins at Ayutthaya:

DSC_1909

The peaceful rivers of Ayutthaya:

DSC_1989

…and Singapore, with its rich natural fauna and flora and man-made wonders.

The Marina Bay (Art and Science Museum):

DSC_1900

Marina Bay Gardens and Marina Bay Sands Hotel:

DSC_2057

I consider having each chance to travel a blessing, a bonus-round if you will, because it makes me so much richer personally (though poorer financially, hehe).

And just to keep it in the topic of beauty, I’ll share with you the non-makeup must-haves that I carried around with me during my month of travel. Because I know I will be shuffling between cities, I had to consider bringing the least amount of products in the most portable forms.

DSC_1843

L-R: La Roche Posay Anthelios XL (SPF50), Clinique Moisture Surge (travel size), Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil (sample), Leyende Out of Sight Eye Cream, Moroccan Oil (sample size), not in photo: L’Occitane Extra Gentle Milk Soap

La Roche Posay Anthelios XL (SPF50) – I’ve yet to post the proper review for this product, but this fluid-type (love!) sunscreen is well-known for its superior sun protection qualities. I’ll talk about this in detail later, but let me just say that if you get the chance to get sunscreen from European brands, do so. They have new components that are yet to approved in the US.

Clinique Moisture Surge – My favorite moisturizer, I cannot  get over the gel texture which is easily absorbed by the skin leaving me with soft, supple, non-sticky skin.

Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil – I have a few packets of these, the SAs at Shu Uemura (in HK) are real darlings, giving me a few packets whenever I buy. Somehow, I feel confident with oils for makeup removal (read about my routine here). I have been doing so for about five years and so far I think it works.

Leyende Out of Sight Eye Cream – I don’t know for sure if and how this helps, but it’s never too early to start on preventive skincare.

Moroccan Oil – My multi-purpose oil, for hair, dry skin patches, hands and cuticles. The rich oily texture and subtle aromatic scent makes it a delight to use.

L’Occitane Extra Gentle Milk Soap – would you believe I still haven’t  finished this bar of soap? I just like how this soap cleans the skin and leaves it smelling milky and not too dry.

I’ve always appreciated samples and for good reason—they are the best when travelling! It’s also nice to think about streamlining your routine, and whatever that may be, it should at least include a cleanser, a moisturizer and sunscreen.

And just to remind you, you can bring a total of 1000mL of liquids/gels (in 50ml-max bottles in a sealed plastic bag) in your carry-on luggage. Happy travels!

One thought on “On Travel Essentials: The Non-Makeup

  1. Pingback: On Packing Makeup: Travelling with MORE Than The Essentials | an artechoke

Leave a Reply

