Bangkok / Beauty Tools / Domestic / hair / Lipstick / Make up / Revlon / Shopping / Travel

On Hotels and Hauls, Uptown and Downtown

Let me tell you about where we’re staying here in Bangkok. We are billeted in a serviced apartment that isn’t too fancy or prime, but it’s fairly new and clean. I don’t really think myself a tourist tourist, so our place is just perfect.

This is the sort-of entry-way/outdoor lobby. We sometimes sit out there while snacking on fruits and iced coffee, browsing through Thai magazines we can’t read.

DSC_1867

It is owned by an old lady who lives in one of the ground floor units, and is manned by nice, mother-ish Thai ladies.

DSC_1865

A few steps out is a nail salon adjacent to the hotel’s entrance but it seems closed down..too bad, I was kind of excited by the thought of having a nail place so close by!

DSC_1866

This is our street, Pracharad Bamphen Soi 11. Mostly gated residential houses, but once you get out the main road, food stalls abound. More on those later.

DSC_1868

So, anyway, during these past few days, I’ve been to a couple of malls (there’s probably one in every train stop here!). Recently, I  picked up a few items at Watsons. They’re currently on sale, 10-20% off, and they carry the usual drugstore makeup brands as in Manila, plus more: they have Japanese brands Canmake, Cezanne, an extensive Kate line.  They also carry some European skin-care brands like Eucerin, La Roche Posay, etc. Boots, is an entirely story altogether. Agh!

DSC_1847

Stuff Schmuff: Garnier Mineral Light Extra Deodorant (if you have to know, I forgot to pack mine), Watsons Bobbled Pintail Comb, In2It Blush Brush and Mirror Compact, Revlon Matte Lipstick in Strawberry Suede (hey, still being sold in Bangkok, y’all!!)

On a separate occasion, I bought this for my sister at the Emporium Beauty Hall in Phrom Pong:

DSC_2011

RMK Smoothing Polished Base (1,590 baht)

With which came these samples from the SA:

DSC_2009

I’ll post a quick preview of the Revlon lipstick real soon. I’ll ask my sister if I can review the RMK Smoothing Polished Base, too. And of course, the samples which may (or may not) convince me to buy their full-sized samples. But I’m holding off until I visit the Suqqu store in Chit Lom—as much I ‘d like to, I can’t afford to spend that much so I have to be [consumer] smart.

Lots of trips and food exploits get in the way of blogging, and I’m hopelessly lugging behind. More soon!

5 thoughts on “On Hotels and Hauls, Uptown and Downtown

  1. Pingback: On RMK Samples: Very Nice To Meet You, Too! « an artechoke

  2. Pingback: On In2It’s Eye Color Palette: Sorbet Me Not « an artechoke

  3. Pingback: On Bangkok: Belated But Beloved | an artechoke

Leave a Reply

