Hearts/Farts / Lipstick / MAC

On MAC Impassioned, Amplified and Trendy-fied

Oh, hello, I had this lipstick p/review (I say p/review since it’s more of a view than a review) on the back-burner waiting to be published, but then I had to fly out and all that. And then I have to settle back inโ€”I tell you, I’m such a bad traveller, takes me days to get back to regular programming!

Anyhow. Now that neon is back on the radar (beauty-wise, that is), I feel it’s fitting to have a nod at it. And what better way than with lipstick–it’s really the fastest way to incorporate a trend to your look!

elle-indonesia-2

Photo: Elle Indonesia

DSC_0246 (2)

MAC Amplified Cream Lipstick in Impassioned (sold locally for Php1000)

Okay, so Impassioned is an almost neon, warm pink in MAC’s Amplified formula. Two things: pink, and amplified.

Just how pink is this lipstick? Well to compare with my recently reviewed pink lipsticks, this sits in the hazy middleโ€”it’s more blue-based than coral, but fluorescent, kind of like Crayola’s Radical Red. It is surprisingly warm when worn, on the tube it looks crazy bright and a tad unwearable. But as you can see, it went on alright:

DSC_0236 (2)

About the formula. The lipstick goes on thick in one swipe, it’s not very shy. I used about two coats below, and you can see how saturated that color is. It goes on slick, and sets to a satiny finish.

DSC_0241 (2)

Sometimes though, since it’s so pigmented, the lipstick tends to goop up into flakes, specially when reapplying or layering. But it stays put for a long while and leaves a friendly stain. Actually, I find that I rather use this as thatโ€”apply, blot, voila!

photo

My own dose of trendy. So yes, this makes it to the purse. What about you, which lipsticks do you carry with you?

One thought on “On MAC Impassioned, Amplified and Trendy-fied

  1. Pingback: Lipstick Lineup: Summer Edition | an artechoke

Leave a Reply

