Event / Fashion / Food / Make up

On Things Worth Celebrating: Golden Weddings, Good Food, And Family

Last Saturday, H’s aunt and uncle celebrated their golden wedding anniversary—golden, that’s 50 years of being together! To celebrate, their kids planned a surprise party at the Century Park Hotel and Seafood Restaurant, complete with wedding cake, giveaways…

IMG_0957

…and a renewal of vows mass presided by their friend priest.

IMG_0897

Having been newly married myself, it gives me such inspiration and hope to see couples happy after so many years of togetherness. My own parents have been together for forty-one years!

IMG_0898

After the ceremonies was a golden confetti of coins and candy!

Do you remember playing with these Goya chocolate coins as a kid?

IMG_0911

Afterwards, a many-course Chinese lauriat. I wasn’t able to take photos of each and every course and dish, but believe me, it was a lot. There were cold cuts, noodles, soup, fried rice—I believe the meal service lasted for more than two hours! And I’m a little embarrassed to say, but I’m such a lechon lover. Give me lechon, some steamed rice and icy cola and the meal’s a done deal. I’m in meat limbo.

I probably finished half this plate. I’ll guess I’ll diet another day!

IMG_0919

This lechon (roast pig) was incredibly tasty—the skin crunchy like burnt sugar and the meat soft as, ah, bread?

IMG_0921

And you know what goes best with lechon? Soda with lotsa ice! I generally don’t drink soda anymore, but for this piece of meat, I surrender. I had half a can.

Hello, Virgin, I haven’t seen you in a long time!

IMG_0887

Lobsters swimming in butter sauce.

IMG_0928

Shrimps cooked in light wine, is that ‘nilasing na hipon’ (drunken shrimps)?

IMG_0925

And there were still more seafood, deep-fried crayfish, crabs, steamed fish. I feel full all over again just thinking about it!

Oh, and makeup! I apologize for my grainy-blurry photos, I rather dislike toting a bulky camera around. #birthdaywish, hehe

IMG_0890

Makeup details: Lancôme Teint Miracle in O-025, MAC Moisturecover Concealer in NC20, MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Medium, MACxWonderwoman Mineralize Skinfinish in Pink Power, MAC Paint Pot in Bare Study, Majolica Majorca Cream Eyeliner in Black, MAC Eyeshadow in Carbon, Maybelline Lash Stiletto Mascara, Face Shop Brow Powder Duo, MAC Brow Set in Girl Boy, NYX Matte Lipstick in Angel

IMG_0915

Outfit details: Sequin collar/H&M, silk shirt/thrifted, pants/Zara, shoes/from HK

IMG_0902

And of course, what seems to be the new Filipino party maker: videoke photobooths! I had a blast scrambling for hats with the kids (and kids-at-heart).

IMG_0974

Really a fun and joyful occasion, I’m happy to be part of, and celebrating with the family. Here’s to more years of togetherness! Happy Monday everyone!

Leave a Reply

