Beauty Tools / Fashion / Food / Make up / Shopping / Travel

On Singapore: Travel And Beauty Bits And Bobs

Okay, I wasn’t able to take photos but that doesn’t mean I’ll rule out stories anyway! I was in Singapore for the weekend to check on a project which, hopefully I’ll be able to share with you in the months to come.

I, together with an artist friend, were billeted in this boutique hotel in Little India called Moon.

IMG_1286

It’s a tiny building remodeled into a modern, quite posh space. This lobby below is just about it.The rooms are super tiny as well, we had to ask to be transferred to another room as the one we initially got has no windows (scary!). But the room was clean, had fresh towels and all the knick-knacks. They serve a decent breakfast (=good coffee!) and do cocktail hour too (free booze=love).

IMG_1285

Photos: hazelnutlife.blogspot.com

Anyway, let me tell you about the neighborhood. Little India is one of many culture-y spots in Singapore and is fast-becoming a ‘hip’ place—bars and boutique hotels stand side by side with local Indian markets and restaurants. I appreciate Indian food and culture and I didn’t mind the ‘chaos’ so much, I rather liked it!

Our hotel is almost across Wonderlust, the more prominent boutique hotel in the area. H stayed there before when it was just opened!

lebddde70d8ec6a0f5296bc92889242671310917728

Photo: Khalzuri Yazid

We were able to go around the area for a bit, and able to sit down for a proper Indian meal. This photo was the same restaurant we went to, Banana Leaf Apolo , but I ordered butter chicken and saffron rice (not the stuff in the borrowed photo), my companion had a roti with teh tarik. Yum!

l597171ea67d6d29acf5fee432873f1cc1310915983

Photo: http://www.flickr.com/photos/pelicann

Afterwards,we scoped out the local market. I bought gulab jamuns (fried milk in syrup) and milk cookies.

jamun_99_44

Photo: www.chefinyou.com

0015ARC2AEE359129C8426l

Photo: sg.openrice.com

So, to make up for my lack of photos, let me share with you my makeup travel kit. I usually refrain from bringing too much since I know for sure how pressed for time and space I’ll be. I usually bring a lot of pencils since they’re easy to apply (and you have them for everything-eyes, brows, lips) and don’t take up space. Also, cream/solid formulas (in pencils and in pots) are great to pack since they won’t leak out, and can be applied by fingers.

In my black, nylon Beabi pouch are:

DSC_0182

Pots: MAC Paint Pot in Bare Study (black cap), potted Face Shop HD Perfect BB Cream (white cap), Majolica Majorca Blood On

Pencils: Majolica Majorca Brow Customize Pencil, K-Palette Real Lasting Liner in Super Black, NYX Eye Pencil in Black Brown, Boots No.7 Lip Pencil, MAC Kohl Liner in Teddy

Tubes: Maybelline One-by-one Volum’ Express Mascara, Lip Ice Sheer Color Lip Balm, MAC Moisturecover Concealer, MAC lipstick in Impassioned, Clinique Moisture Surge

Bottles,etc: Moroccan Oil (sample-size), Christian Dior J’Adore Perfume (travel-size), Shu Uemura Lash Curler

And, as promised, my Singapore beauty buys. Not a lot, since I didn’t have a lot of time to go around and the malls are just too crazy! Since it was a weekend, and with the Great Singapore Sale at that, I had to bolt out as soon as I can. I’m not as aggressive as I used to be..oh, well.

The Duty Free shops are just too uninspiring—and, the MAC store didn’t have the stuff I wanted to get. Actually at that point, a massage was all I cared for.

DSC_0154

From Watsons (20% off!): K-Palette Real Lasting Eyebrow and Eyeliner (SG$19.90 each, paid 15.92), La Roche-Posay Anthelios XL SPF50 (SG$45.90, paid 36.72)

From Duty Free: Clinique Almost Lipstick in Black Honey (SG$ 22.40), Revlon Colorstay Translucent Pressed Powder (SG$12)

Can you believe how cheap those K-Palette liners are (compared here)?! Anyway, I’m actually very psyched about the Anthelios XL, cant wait to write a review on that! Stay tuned!

One thought on “On Singapore: Travel And Beauty Bits And Bobs

  1. Pingback: On Keeping It Short and Sweet: Singapore, The Second Time Around « an artechoke

Leave a Reply

