Face / Hearts/Farts / MAC / Make up / Skin Care

On MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural: Stay-At-Home Wonder

For a while now, I have been on the lookout for a decent finishing powder, something to set my face makeup with. I often default to a couple pats of my Maybelline Clear and Smooth Face Powder (in Natural) midday or after office but rarely after applying makeup during the day because I now find it too heavy. I thought of trying translucent loose powders but admittedly, I’m too much of a klutz for that.

So after some online sleuthing, I ended up at the MAC website where an organized list of their powders come with brief descriptions. I zeroed in on this:

DSC_0266

MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Medium, (sold locally for Php1650)

“A luxurious domed face powder with minerals, slowly baked to provide a dimensional yet natural-matte finish. Provides perfect low coverage. Use to set and fix foundation or as a touch-up throughout the day.”

DSC_0260

Because it did sound like exactly what I was looking for, I headed out at the MAC store to give it a try. It felt like it would do as it told, but more importantly, I was drawn to the fact that there were 10 shades to choose from; I matched myself to Medium.

DSC_0269

The color is a tad warmer (on the pan, at least) than what I’m used to but it adjusts/disappears upon application. The texture is truly silky, however, a short swirl of my fluffy powder brush generates a lot of product [fallout] which took me aback. Yeah, because it is mineral and baked, it’s not denseβ€”you will get the loose powder experience.

DSC_0255

However, that powder melts into the skin giving off a sheer, matte-yet-still-glowy finish. I used this to set my Face Shop HD Perfect BB Cream and the result was just lovely! It diffuses little imperfections, and sets concealer well but no more than that, you would have to rely on your foundation for coverage. This kept my makeup for about 4 hours, 5 tops. Afterwards, it gets absorbed by the skin oils which I just blot out.

DSC_0265 (2)

What else: Face Shop HD Perfect BB Cream in Natural Beige, MAC Moisturecover Concealer in NC20, Maybelline Crayonbrow Pencil, MAC Brow Set in Girl Boy, MAC Paint Pot in Bare Study, Maybelline Lash Stiletto Mascara, NYX Eyeliner in Velvet, Makeup Forever HD Blush #6, Boots No.7 Line and Define Pencil in Nude

DSC_0264 (2)

An Artechoke Hearts/Farts? Hearts! Clearly because of the overall effect, color match and coverage (or lack thereof, as I was looking for a finishing/setting product). Though, I would have to discover a better way to apply it, or find a better brush to control its powdery-ness. And since I’m afraid of breaking it, I do not bring it with me which is such a shame! That said, this MAC M.S.F.N. is a great finishing product to leave the home with, afterwards, you would need a less delicate powder to bring with you elsewhere.

4 thoughts on “On MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural: Stay-At-Home Wonder

  1. I love this too! But I’m careful with it also because of the powder that gets loose. No matter what you do your compact will look messy. I have it in Light and it works well alone or on top of foundation, but with the latter I dust it lightly kasi too much will look cakey. Might have something to do with the shade also.

    • Hi Kari, I read you reply to the other post na, thanks! I’m now using a stippling brush for light coverage, and a buffing brush for heavier coverage. I stipple the brush on to the pan to avoid the powder from flying all over. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: On Boots No.7 Nude Lip Liner: Lips On Default « an artechoke

  3. Pingback: Hearts/Farts: Milani Illuminating Face Powder in Amber Nectar « an artechoke

Leave a Reply

