Domestic / Food / On Other Matters

On Other Matters: Pancake And No-Bake Cheesecake Project

Just to have a bit of a break from the series of reviews on the line, and because a lot of you enjoy reading about my gastronomiques, I’m sharing these with you. It’s been a while since my last food post anyway, and yes, I still continue tinkering around the kitchen. I actually made an attempt at a “fairly complicated” 2-bowl pancake recipe, the results best summarized in this photo:

DSC_0256

Fluffy, chewy and a bit biscuit-y (salty, not sweet). Tastes super with maple syrup! We like ours we a bit of a burnt crust, too.

This recipe called for 8oz of cream cheese, leaving me with an almost-full pack of Philadelphia. So, I toyed with the idea of making cheesecake! Sadly, we still haven’t got an oven (been asking my husband for a small, electric one—soon!), so no-bake, it is. There are so many variations of the recipe, some call for a variety of cream, sugar, etc. I used a combination of recipes, actually, and I ended up using a cream cheese, all-purpose cream, condensed milk and lemon for the filling:

Whip, whip and mix!

DSC_0231

I’m also using fresh vanilla beans for the first time, those small black dots you see on the mixture:

DSC_0235

Once that’s all good and mixed, I poured it into a ready-made, off-the-shelf graham crust:

DSC_0243

And this goes to the freezer to set.

DSC_0248

I took this out after almost 24 hours in the freezer—the filling was nicely chilled but the crust was, like I said on Facebook, irritatingly crumbly (must make my own next time):

DSC_0237 (2)

Anyhow, that aside, the filling was okay-both sweet and tart and creamy. Although, you have to kind of hurry to finish it, otherwise, it’ll melt.

DSC_0246 (2)

On another time, I tried putting a layer of mango jam on top of it, and it worked well, even better, I suppose! My colleague Mark said it tasted like Yakult. I like Yakult, so I guess that’s good?

DSC_0234 (3)

I’m not a pro, so I can’t go around handing recipes, but I do encourage you to Google recipes and put your own intuitive spin on them!

Here’s to happy experiments!

Leave a Reply

