Beauty Tools / Face / Make up / Skin Care

On Taking It All Off: A Makeup Removal Guide

On a not-so-recent birthday dinner, a friend called my attention on makeup removal, or rather, this blog’s lack thereof. Sorry—I’ve been talking about putting makeup on, without a single word on how to take it off! But I do, of course. Every single day.

Look, Ma, no makeup!

DSC_0153 (2)

So, here’s a proper makeup removal post for her and everybody else’s benefit! The basics of my makeup removal fall into two simple steps: the dissolve and the wash. Basically, you need an oil-based product to dissolve the makeup with, and some type of soap/cleanser to wash all that oil and makeup off. I do it two ways, as discussed below. To start off, here are the the main guys in removing gunk off my face:

DSC_0134

Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil, Cethaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser, Himalaya Neem Foaming Facial Wash, Liquid Neutrogena Pure Mild Facial Cleanser

Makeup Off, One: First way I do it is by using the Neutrogena Makeup Remover Wipes, I press it on my closed eyes for a few seconds, letting the product steep well (and dissolve makeup) before wiping it off gently. I repeat this process until I get rid of all the makeup. I like this because it’s effective, easy and can be done water-free. Though, I still like to lather with any of my suds-ing products afterwards.

I’m on my second pack of these remover-savers! Neutrogena Makeup Remover Wipes here shown with Garnier Foaming Facial Cream

DSC_1808

Makeup Off, Two:  The other way is to get a small pump of cleansing oil (I sometimes use baby oil, cold cream, or petroleum jelly too), and work it around the eyes, forehead, nose and cheeks. Most of the oil goes to the eye area (brows, lids, lashes) where I apply makeup most. If there’s a lot of oily gunk, I use soft-tissue to gently wipe the excess off. I wet my hands a bit to introduce a bit of water to the skin and massage the product further. The Shu Uemura oil lathers a bit when wet which is really great (read: not yucky). The Garnier Foaming Facial Cream pretty much works the same way, except that its cream and lathers more.

I ‘shampoo’ (gently roll lashes between fingers) my lashes to take out mascara, which is usually the stubborn bit. I rinse the whole thing off with water then wash my face with a mild cleanser. I switch to a lot of cleansers, depending on the perceived state of my skin. Lately I’m using this L’Occitane soap a lot, but if my skin feels too dry I use Cetaphil or Himalaya. The Liquid Neutrogena, I’ve been using the longest-since my teens, so I’ve got to have that always with me.

Been using this lately, I’m addicted to the scent!

DSC_1771

Few last notes:

– Always, always take off your makeup before taking to bed. Try to make it habit, so no matter how drunk you are at 3am, you’d still get to it. Those wipes would be really handy, though..

– Don’t assault your skin—you’d be be missing the whole point of skin care! No matter what you use, do so with gentle strokes—massage, wipe, pat. Don’t scrub, tug or pull.

– I wipe lipstick off with balm/petroleum jelly, it usually gets them right off, without the unsavory flavor/taste.

– Lastly, I do not claim to be an expert, or are these instructions. Of course, it’s ideal to consult with a dermatologist. But this is what I do, and so far, it hasn’t done me harm. I hope this helps!

8 thoughts on “On Taking It All Off: A Makeup Removal Guide

    • Hi, Katsy! Sadly, I had to have mine bought abroad–I’ve searched all over! You can try the ones from Watsons and Tony Moly, though. 😦

      • Magbibilin na lang ako from abroad pala hehe. I’ll try Tony Moly. I like their mascara – super cheap and ok for me for everyday but I never really used mascara before so I’m not exactly the best judge 🙂 Thanks Ae!

      • Hi Denise, not a problem! I’m sure this is still relevant today-will check it out, I need to repurchase myself. Thank you! 🙂

    • Hi, honestly I don’t know if it does anything to my skin (I don’t use it very regularly), but since it doesn’t break me out, is natural and comes in foam, I like it!:)

  1. Pingback: On Travel Essentials: The Non-Makeup « an artechoke

Leave a Reply

