Event / Eyes / Fashion / Full Makeup Post / Make up / Makeup Pegs / Personality

On Doing A Red Carpet Smoky, A Peg, A Review And A Stila Palette Too! (Part 2)

Earlier, I did a review on the Stila Smoky Eye The Talking Palette (see it here). The manner of that review was to use the product to do a look similar to/inspired by Emma Watson’s look below:

emma-stone-golden-globes-69-hair

First, some apologies/disclaimers:

1. Obviously, I’m no Emma, so I cannot look like her. The shape and size of her eye is beyond!

2. I’m not a trained makeup artist either, so be warned.

3. These are not step-by-step photos, but I’ll talk you through what I did.

I started by mapping out eye shadow shape—a rounded, almost a U-shape extending way beyond the upper lids—and traced an outline using a soft black eyeliner pencil (Maybelline Crayon Liner). There’s also a visible outline on the inner corner of the eyes, so I drew a line there as well. I shaded these outlines and softened the liner inwards using a clean blending brush. This is the most important step for me, I think coz that makes the makeup so distinct. And that’s what’s underneath the dark areas on the lids, below:

DSC_1776

Using the black liner shade (matte black, lower right corner), I intensified the black eyeliner I ‘ve previously drawn. And then you take a clean brush and blend the edges. I used pointed crease brush to really work in the pigment.

DSC_1204 (2)

I then applied a wash of  the lid color (the shimmery gray,upper right corner of the palette) on the middle lid area connecting and slightly blending the blacks on the outer and inner corners of the eye. Next I pressed the crease shade (shimmery purply gray, lower right) on the crease area, blending slightly with the black shadow. This is like painting a sharp U-shape on the outer eye corner.

DSC_1777

Now you have to go back to your liner shade and intensify the black all over again, extending outwards and towards the lower lid. Lined the upper and lower water line with black eyeliner.

DSC_1781

What else I’m wearing: In2It Eyebrow Powder,  Maybelline’s Cat Eyes Volum’ Express Mascara, Bourjois Blusher in Rose Ambre, MAC Sea Sheer lipstick topped with Daiso lipgloss, Maybelline Clear and Smooth Face Powder

DSC_1744 (2)

Step-by-step photos would’ve been more helpful, I know. But I wasn’t sure what I was doing half the time, I’m not sure about posting. Anyway, I hope you can get whatever you can from this and just have fun with makeup. Fun with makeup, and life. Ta-ta!

4 thoughts on “On Doing A Red Carpet Smoky, A Peg, A Review And A Stila Palette Too! (Part 2)

  1. Love how you recreated the look 🙂 I think that the Stila palette you reviewed was perfect. Haha. I should really try to look for a peg so I could get more motivated to use eyeshadow properly XD

  2. Thanks for your comments! It was fun trying to work from a peg/picture, it’s like a grown up version of color-by-numbers. 🙂

  3. Pingback: FMP: Pink Lids And Liner Ala Emma Stone « an artechoke

Leave a Reply

