Beauty Tools / Face / Hearts/Farts / Make up

On Face Shop HD-Perfect BB Cream And Doing Your Intel

Recently, I’ve been toying with the thought of trying a full-on BB cream. You know full well that I’ve pledged my allegiance to this product, but somehow I feel that for versatility and variety, I could do with a bit more coverage. I’ve carried and filed away this thought with me until one day I stepped into that brightly-lit store called the Face Shop.

And just like a dream,  BB Creams of all sorts and sizes were there neatly lined up in a big shelf! Talk about a kid in a candy shop!

They have everything from the basic Lovely ME:EX, Aqua and HD formulas (there’s a whole lot more!). See my swatches below:

DSC01043

I tried those I like on several areas of my face and left. I really want to see how it will set and wear out on me. It also gives me the chance to check it out in different lighting conditions, so I highly suggest you do too. The HD-Perfect type stood out because it gave me the sensation that it’s working, I felt my skin kind of warmed up upon application.

The next time I was in a mall, I tried the HD-Perfect variety on  (almost) my entire face. Same drill, I walked it off. I happened to get a glimpse of my reflection somewhere and I really imagined thought I was glowing!

Eventually, I did get the HD-Perfect, for several reasons, aside from the glowingly obvious:

DSC_0655

Face Shop HD-Perfect BB Cream in Natural Beige (Php 495)

1. It’s available in two shades, Light Beige and Natural Beige. You know how BB Creams almost always come in a single shade, and that is usually a bit pale for us South-Easterners. Natural Beige is a much better fit for me, at least.

2. It has SPF 30/PA++. My Dr.Oil Anti-Shine BB Lotion comes with SPF20, so I’d take that extra 10, thank you.

3. It’s HD! I feel kinda foolish for jumping in on the HD wagon here (without fully understanding what that means), but who doesn’t want this: “…meticulously conceal skin flaws and blemishes while covering widened pores and uneven skin surface to provide a fair and smooth HD skin appearance”?

4. It comes in 20 and 40mL flat-ish tubes. While this may not be a big factor for you, it is for me. The Dr. Oil can be a bit bulky, so I leave it at home. The 20mL is just the perfect size, besides I can’t commit to anything more than that. I would always want to try a another one, eventually.

Okay, so in the spirit of thoroughness (hehe), I’ll now show you two versions:

Un-powdered (and a few hours after application):

DSC_0598

What I’m wearing: Face Shop HD-Perfect BB Cream in Natural Beige, Face Shop Brow Powder Duo, Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express Mascara, Lip Ice Lip Balm

Powdered (and a few minutes after application):

DSC_0655 (2)DSC_0659 (2)

What I’m wearing: Face Shop HD-Perfect BB Cream in Natural Beige, Face Shop Brow Powder Duo, Lip Ice Lip Balm, Maybelline Clear and Smooth Face Powder, MACxWonderwoman Mineralize Skinfinish in Pink Power

Note: These were taken under two different lighting conditions, time, date and shade configurations.

An Artechoke Hearts/Farts: Hearts. Over and above everything, I heart it because it satisfied what I was on the lookout for. The bonus is that it looks great on, even without powder. The real challenge though, as in most thick/cream formulas is evening out the application, which a good, dense foundation brush can solve. It costs a bit more than other BB Creams from similar Korean drugstore brands (Dr. Oil was Php 498 for 30mL) but then again I was after the smaller quantity. Anyway, lucky for us, BB Creams abound. I suggest you think of things you need from a coverage product before looking around. Think of it as intelligence work before going to war. Good luck! 😉

13 thoughts on “On Face Shop HD-Perfect BB Cream And Doing Your Intel

  1. There is something about bb creams that really makes the skin look perfect somewhat, no? It took thick layers of liquid foundation for me to get the same effect before. :p I love how bb creams make things easier.

    • Yeah! I’m hooked! Tsk. But I’m really trying to learn foundation application now using brushes. I’ve yet to see the difference! 🙂

      • I’ve tried a fingers, a foundation brush, a duo fibre brush, and sponge… I like the sponge method because it gives me the least case of flakey nose with obvious pores. 😛

  2. Pingback: On Three-step Eyes And Making A Sandwich In Between « an artechoke

    • Hi, Clair! I find that I oil up a little with this, nothing too major though, I usually just use a blotting sheet and reapply powder. Say, once within a work day, and maybe another if I’m still going out for dinner after work. 🙂

      • Ooh. Sounds like a good thing then. 🙂 I haven’t tried the Dr Oil BB Lotion by Etude House yet. I am still iffy about it because it’s bulky ^^;;

        And yes, we’re so lucky to have lots of BB creams locally. I am waiting for Clinique to sell its BB creams here. And The Skin Shop too. I’m hoping that the local Watson’s branches will sell The Skin Shop products because they’re already in Watson’s Thailand.

      • Oh yeah, those! But I still like Dr. Oil for everyday use, I just leave it at home lang.. I’m also such a cheapskate with BB Creams, I try to steer clear from expensive and fancy ones. Basta Korean brand, good enough na, haha! 🙂

  3. I just learned how much the Clinique BB cream costs. Ahahaha. Good luck with that. XDDD The Skin Shop has it cheaper compared to Clinique.

    I actually started reading your blog because of your review of Dr Oil 🙂

  4. Pingback: Quick Makeup Post: All In a Day’s Work « an artechoke

  5. Pingback: On Garnier BB Cream: A Light And Easy Choice « an artechoke

  6. Pingback: On A Simple Daily Skin Routine: Feat. Bourjois Touche Healthy Mix And BB Cream « an artechoke

Leave a Reply

