Beauty Tools / Makeup Pegs / Nails / Personality

On Doing Black Nails for the First Time and Being Iconic

Can you believe this rain? A few weeks back I was complaining about heat and now, this downpour! Anyhow, I hope everyone’s somewhere warm and dry. Last night we were stuck in traffic, 2 hours for a usual five minute drive, so I’m just glad to be home tonight. Glad enough to share a nail post!

Honestly, this is my first time to apply black nail polish. Sure I love dark nails but I’ve never gone real black, it’s probably the bad rep, or me immaturely resisting to be stereotyped in a certain, well, for lack of a better term, genre. But seeing Kate Moss in this Be Iconic ad, well…

katemossdiorbeautedioraddicts_thumb

..that made me do it! Her nails (and everything else!) are TDF!

And so here’s the cast:

DSC_0532

From left to right: Essie Good to Go! Topcoat, Face Shop BK901 Nail Polish, Essie First Base Basecoat, nail buffer, orange stick

The usual drill, I wash my hands and gently exfoliate the nail bed, towel dry then push the cuticles with the broad end of an orange stick. I then buff the nail surface using the coarse side of the buffer first, then the smooth side. I place my hands under the tap and let the running water clear the debris out. I have a better DIY post here, if you want to know more.

DSC_0539

After applying the base coat and two coats of the polish, I let it dry for a couple of minutes before cleaning up the excesses. I wrap cotton around the pointed end of the orange stick and steep that in nail polish remover. Then I press the stick on to the excess first, before wiping it outwards. That way, I ensure to dissolve the polish on the skin first (easier to remove!) and avoid wiping it away from the nail itself.

DSC_0545

There’s still some more excess (on that little pinky there) but that usually comes off after some hand washing.

One little complaint on the Face Shop polish though: what’s up with that angled and jagged applicator brush? That made application a real challenge! Was it just this particular bottle, or they’ve changed their nail polish brushes entirely? What do you think? Me, I don’t like. 😦

DSC_0537

I wouldn’t even attempt to pose like Ms. Moss, but I’m hoping to do her makeup soon! Nails down, everything else to go! Stay out of the streets, folks!

Leave a Reply

