Make up

On Brow Powders and Redundancies

Today, I’m doing a product head-to-head (brow-to-brow?) between the Face Shop Brow Powder Duo vs Maybelline Brow Definist.

Short story: This is my second Face Shop brow powder, after losing the first one at an event last December. When I got back from my stay in Bangkok early this year, most Face Shop branches have run out, and in panic I bought the Maybelline Brow Definist. A week or two after, Powerplant’s Face Shop re-stocked, so, now I have two.

Maybelline Brow Definist, around Php 350

The Maybelline Brow Definist comes in wax (dark brown) and powder(light brown) formulas that you apply with the small and big sides of the brush, respectively. The wax defines while the powder kind of adds intensity, so you’ll be seeing a darker brow below. It can be a bit tricky to use the softer/bigger brush as it tends to get too fluffy, making it hard to apply the loose powder accurately (or at least in place). The brush case doubles as a mirror, which is very smart, but is light and feels cheap.

Face Shop's Brow Powder Duo, about Php 350 also

Face Shop’s Brow Powder Duo has dark and light brown powder shades. I usually just use the lighter one as I think the color is just the right shade for me–it comes off natural and not too “made up”. The stiffness of the slanted brush coupled with the mascara-type end makes it a lot easier to apply and control. The case has more heft and looks/feels more classy.

Left brow: Face Shop Brow Powder Duo; Right brow: Maybelline Brow Definist

The verdict: As seen here, Maybelline’s Brow Definist provide better coverage, thanks to the wax+powder combo. It’s great for serious makeup moments, like parties, weddings and such. But for ease of everyday use, shade and formula, the Face Shop’s Brow Powder makes for an indispensable makeup item for day, night and every look in between.

Here I’m wearing: Maybelline’s Brow Definist/Face Shop Brow Powder Duo, Estee Lauder Platinum Illuminator on the eyes, Max Factor False Eyelash Mascara, and Maybelline Color Sensational in Soft Azalea on the lips.

6 thoughts on “On Brow Powders and Redundancies

    • Hi, Diane, thanks!! I’ve never (formally) studied, so don’t take me seriously. 🙂 I just share what works for my limited skill and budget, hehe. I hope you and your baby are well!

    • You’re welcome! 🙂 I’m also doing a post on a pencil eyebrow liner naman next time, check what works better for you. 🙂

  1. thanks for the advice, got myself the faceshop brand. it’s easy to apply and color is more natural looking! keep the updates!

Leave a comment