Face / Make up / Skin Care

On Koh Gen Do Aqua Foundation: The Second Time Around

I’m realizing that I fancy high-end foundations. Whenever I find myself looking at drugstore variants, at the back of  my mind, there’s a tiny nudge to just save the money and get something from a “luxury” brand that I know I want to get. I’m not like this with any other makeup items, in fact, you know how I love me a lot of drugstore stuff.

One brand that I really love is Koh Gen Do, a Japanese HD makeup brand. I currently own the Aqua Foundation in OC-2, and the Maifanshi Moisture Foundation and Powder. A recent sale (to make way for the new, reformulated Aqua Foundation) prompted me to get a second bottle.

DSC_2127

Koh Gen Do Aqua Foundation in OC-1, Php1500~ (discounted from Php2700)

DSC_2128

I was in a bind, I did not know what to get. I already found my perfect match in OC-2, but I did not want to get the same shade. It was down to the other yellow-based OC-1 or OC-3. In the end, I chose OC-1 as I figured the bigger shade variance can allow me to mix up the two for a custom shade. OC-2 and OC-3 look almost the same shade-wise, so I wont get as wide range of combinations.DSC_2134

These Aqua Foundations come in a heavy frosted glass bottle with a metal cap and plastic pump nozzle. The pump dispenses just the right amount of product, and well, the bottle is just really classy. A bit heavy and not so ideal to bring along, but I never seem to need to anyway.

DSC_2136

Both foundations come in of course, the same texture but swatch largely differently, shade-wise. While OC-2 is deep, ochre-based flesh tone, OC-1 comes out relatively pale and slightly yellow-based. It does seem too light for my complexion at first glance, but I tried it on at the store and waited for the color to set and oxidize.

DSC_2140

Somehow this blends to just about the right shade on me, and if it does appear light, it looks more of the brighter kind. I was afraid it’ll look mask-like, but it oxidizes a bit, and the glow this foundation gives makes up for any color discrepancies. It looks more forgiving in person than in photos, and anyway I can take down the shade a notch by applying a bronzer/contour powder.DSC_0171

I have long been a fan of this foundation’s easy finish, as is the same case here, the product is a breeze to apply with bare fingers given the creamy liquid texture. Once you’ve got everything covered, it sets quickly leaving a dewy but non-sticky finish. I have no problems building it up too, but I like to wear my bases thin and even so I rarely do layers. A tiny amount of concealer is necessary to even out my under eyes and sides of the nose.

DSC_0169

I find that I rarely feel the need to set this with powder and even so, I get hours of decent wear. Koh Gen Do’s Aqua Foundation for me remains the best casual/formal foundation in that I can wear it for easy no-makeup-makeup days just as well as for dressier, makeup-y ones. It’s the perfect balance between comfort and coverage, dewy and matte—I really love it!

DSC_0168

Have you tried Koh Gen Do? How about the reformulated Aqua Foundation? What did you think of it? I don’t seem to want their color cosmetics although the lipsticks are tempting and the eye shadows feel buttery.

10 thoughts on “On Koh Gen Do Aqua Foundation: The Second Time Around

    • Hey Wiji! OC-2 is my bestest match! Yeah the lipsticks are kinda expensive, so I hope those go on super sale in the near future too! :)

  1. Pingback: Koh Gen Do Aqua Foundation in BE-1 | What Tina Loves

Leave a Reply

