Face / Hearts/Farts / Make up / Trend

Hearts/Farts: Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush

I have been requested a lot to do a review on this product, that’s why I’m bumping this ahead of the queue. And I’m terribly sorry for the hiatus as I (we) have been busy with Art Fair and a recent news which has kept us agog.

The Hourglass Ambient Light Blush has only been recently released, following the success of the Ambient Light Set and the Ambient Light Powders, in general. I have been sour because I wasn’t able to get the former, while everyone else seemed to have availed of theirs over the holidays. So when these powders came out, I just had to get it and instinctively, I bought Dim Infusion (partly since I’ve always wanted the Dim Light Powder). Anyway, I placed my order via an Instagram reseller, paid, and waited for about 2 weeks for it to come in. My initial reaction was, it’s so small and there’s so little! But read on for what else I have to say!DSC_0199

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush in Dim Infusion, 4.2g, Php1995, Instagram reseller

A truly multidimensional blush that enhances cheeks with seamless, soft focus color and a natural radiant finish.

DSC_0203

The Ambient Blush comes in a snazzy, metallic plastic pan that fits squarely in my palm. In the pan is a lovely, celestial-esque swirl pattern of shimmery bright peach/coral and tan. The powder is consistent with most  pressed mineral powders, it gets dislodged by the faintest swirl of the brush. The powder is fine, and very silky—you get that impression on the pan and feeling on your face when applied. It is fragrance free (as is paraben, talc, gluten and nanoparticle free) so I find that a good plus. I find that powdery and perfume-y don’t go well together for me, specially in face products.

To be honest and if I don’t want to kid myself, Dim Infusion swatches to almost nothing. It’s just powder. To which, I only have myself to blame—I chose the lightest, least vibrant shade from the bunch even if I’m not too fair. I knew it the moment I opened the pan, and ran my finger lightly over the powder.

DSC_0218

So with this mounting dissatisfaction, I proceeded to application with very little expectations. While the powder went on smoothly, and really velvety, I barely noticed any color on my face, save for a really smooth and fine glow on my cheeks:

DSC_0228

This was a couple of strokes from the pan, and if you can make out a hint of tint, thank you! Otherwise, you just cant call it a blush. In the case of Dim Infusion on me, it’s a sculpting powder at best. But I’m really not complaining, I like the subtlety (although I wasn’t counting on TOO subtle), and the finishing effect it gives. I love the super fine shimmer and radiance it gives my cheeks !DSC_0224

I thought I can always use it with a contour powder, or use it to set a cream blush to complement the effect. And on the upside, I can use this as a setting powder for almost my entire face as I don’t get that pinky-flush pigment from it. So in theory I get a blush and a powder in one!DSC_0225

Finally, I think I can almost heart  the Hourglass Ambient Blush in Dim Infusion. It is expensive and elusive, but I guess there is a price to pay for the “ambient” experience. But I am convinced with the quality and overall finishing effect of this powder, I get a sort of finished, velvety and glowing effect which lasts for some time. Unfortunately on me, the shade was a bit too subtle so I cannot recommend it as a blush. And oh, there are so many pinker colors in the range so you might want to try those. Great swatch photos of all Ambient Blush colors here and here.

2 thoughts on “Hearts/Farts: Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush

Leave a Reply

