Beauty Tools / Face / Lipstick / Lipstick P/Review / Make up / Trend

Lipstick P/Review: Giorgio Armani Rouge Ecstasy

I was so excited when I read news of this new lipstick range from my favorite-if-only-i-can-afford-it brand Giorgio Armani. The Rouge Ecstasy range launched last year in 36 colors and in what promises to be the first “CC lipstick”. Naturally, having had my share of the GA Rouge , I was curious. And I’m not even into glossy sheeny lipsticks. Luckily I have a sister abroad who I can sweet-talk into getting me hard-to-get makeup things. I asked for a neutral, safe, pinky color. A bit more pink than I would normally go for, but that’s about the risk I was willing to take having only seen the selection online. DSC_0230

Giorgio Armani Rouge Ecstasy Lipstick in Boudoir, USD34.00

Giorgio Armani laboratories have pushed the boundaries of the exceptional even further with the first ‘CC Lipstick’. Color and Care—a new innovative hybrid product that combines high impact color with the ultimate comfort of a moisturizing balm. Color:  This velvety soft, everyday lipstick coats the lips in saturated ultra-luminous shades with impeccable hold. Application is simple, precise and effective. Care: The melting cream complex is an optimal combination of ‘creams’ and shea butters. Rouge Ecstasy offers the comfort and softness of a lip balm, leaving lips repaired and beautifully enhanced day after day.

DSC_0241

I have quite lengthily talked about the GA lipstick packaging in my other review..it’s magnetic and it’s love. The Rouge Ecstasy range comes in a lacquer box-red color and finish which looks and feels very oriental-chic! I seriously cannot fall more for these tubes. DSC_0256

The second thing you’ll notice when you open the tube is, the scent. Now, I’m not too iffy about scents, but this isn’t even a scent-scent..it’s a grandma lipstick kind of scent which leaves me confused. How can Giorgio Armani miss that? Unless of course everybody else did, but am I wrong? Has anyone else found this smell off-putting?

But on to the texture, which is the meat of this post—Giorgio Armani promises color and care. The Rouge Ecstasy goes on smoothly and evenly, heavy yet sheer and shimmery. It can be built up to an almost full opacity, but I like to use about two solid coats to still maintain the sheer look. I wasn’t too prepared for the shimmer/glitter that’s in the formula of at least this shade, Boudoir (I’m not sure if all other shades come with). To be honest, I was taken aback by it, it’s visible on the tube and on the lips! The fine complex shimmer of pink and silver, while visible on the lips up close, lends a rather agreeable dull sheen which can be mistaken as a moist/dewy effect. I think that’s what the GA people refer to when they say “ultra luminous”. You can detect that silvery sheen in these photos below:

DSC_2223

The color Boudoir is a deep rosy pink with some mauve-y undertones, a great MLBB shade. I would think this would flatter most light to medium skin tones—everyone looks great in a pink lipstick! This though isn’t quite the trendiest shade or finish

DSC_2209

The Rouge Ecstasy feels comfortable on the lips (save for that disturbing smell), I wouldn’t say it’s balmy, as it sinks to a thin film on the lips. It’s not drying but the moist finish keeps it’s shine and color a while longer than a creamy lipstick, being that it sets. And frankly, I wouldn’t even try to comment on the CC effect because, I’ve never bought into it when it came out (as skincare/makeup) in the first place, so I wouldn’t know how that would translate on the lips. I guess if you say color and care, most lipbalm/stick hybrids have all been there, done that. I would say though that this doesn’t feel annoyingly thick or clumpy on the lips for the amount of pigment it gives. That’s good enough for me!

DSC_2267

All things considered, while it’s nice to have this Rouge Ecstasy (thanks, ate!), I prefer the texture , finish and color payoff of my other GA lipstick, the Rouge D’Armani because I am a matte lipstick disciple, and I like my lipsticks full on. However, the pretty factor of this lipstick is undeniable—it is, instant fresh! I imagine this would be great for office wear, for dates and weddings and what not as it is such a great casual, flattering, every day kind of lipstick (an expensive one, at that). The texture is comfortable, the color payoff is admirable as it is long wearing. There are a lot of other colors to choose from, and if you are into luxury lipsticks, I’m sure you wont pass on this!

Have you tried Giorgio Armani Rouge Ecstasy lipsticks? What did you think of the smell it?

4 thoughts on “Lipstick P/Review: Giorgio Armani Rouge Ecstasy

  1. I have this armani lipstick but in 401 Hot. And just like you, I really don’t like its smell! I’m reminded of old lipsticks that our mommies used to wear. Lol! But aside from that, I love how it glides on the lips smoothly and the shape of the bullet somehow fits the shape of my lips perfectly. I want to try the other shades though coz the kind of red that I got makes my teeth a bit yellowish(eep!)

    • Haha, glad you noticed the same thing too, Aura! I didn’t want to sound too finicky! It’s also true about what you said about the bullet shape! Although I much prefer the formula of the GA Lasting Silk lipstick than this one. :)

Leave a Reply

