Bangkok / Beauty Tools / Face / Hearts/Farts / Skin Care / Storage

On RMK Samples: Very Nice To Meet You, Too!

I think I told you I was given these samples when I bought an RMK makeup base for my sister a few days back. Of course I’ve heard about the brand, but I wasn’t too keen on it because it’s not available in Manila. Well, when I got here in Bangkok, it was hard to resist not to join in on the fun.

The SA at the RMK counter in Emporium (get off the Phrom Phong BTS Station, fyi) was really very nice, she tried her best to talk to me about the brand, and picked out samples that she feels would fit me/y skin tone. She gave me these samples, which are, apparently, their best-selling multi-award winning duo and is known to be in the top seller / best loved of all cosmetic products list in Japan and in South Asian markets:

DSC_2008

RMK Makeup Base and RMK Liquid Foundation with SPF14 in Shade 103 (1 mL samples each)

I thought I’d share with you how I find these samples. Starting off with the Makeup Base:

Light emulsion type makeup base that works on any skin condition by priming the uneven surface, providing the perfect fit of foundation to the skin. It delivers an even moisturizing veil with its Silk Essence for the moisturized, beautiful and smooth texture that lasts for hours.

DSC_1840 (2)

RMK is quite known for their makeup bases, they actually have four types of bases, some even come in different shades/types, like the one I got for my sister. This one in particular doesn’t—it’s a generic type which is basically a [very] runny peachy/milky fluid that gets absorbed by the skin instantly, without the greasy, filmy residue. I find that it actually gives the skin a soft, matte finish that’s very pleasant to touch once it sets. I also think it gives off a subtle, hardly noticeable glow. Here, applied on bare skin:

DSC_1842 (2)

After a minute, when all that’s set, I applied the liquid foundation still using my fingers. I was actually surprised to find the foundation to be really very liquid, almost as runny as the base:

The essential RMK Liquid Foundation to create the brand’s signature natural-looking skin. Its fresh and light fluid texture spreads easily over the skin, creating a seamless balance of coverage and translucency to emulate the look of bare skin. The waterproof formulation protects against perspiration and water for long-lasting perfection.

DSC_1844 (2)

The shade looked dark on my hand but upon application and blending (which was a dream, it glides to skin and blends like a moisturizer) it somewhat adjusted to my skin tone, which here looked a tad too bright:

DSC_1862

I was thoroughly amazed by how the  liquid foundation set onto my skin—it’s as if it all got absorbed by the skin leaving me with well, better skin! Oh, what I’m trying to say is, it feels as if I’m not wearing any makeup at all!

Here I am wearing a bit more makeup, face set with Revlon Translucent Pressed Powder:

DSC_1916

I only applied half of each packet  in these photos, but I believe the coverage to be sufficient. It’s not so visible in these photos but my skin’s a bit stressed here in Bangkok—dry patches around the nose, some spots on the forehead, etc. It must be the water, or the pollution. Anyway, that doesn’t seem to be the case in these deluding photos (wearing these products!):

DSC_1885

So…the long and short of it, I love this duo! Which may pose a real challenge to my budget—I would have to forego other things on my list. And avoid Watsons and Boots altogether! A tiny consolation would be a 5% Tourist Discount (and 7% VAT refund when I leave Bangkok) so, we’ll see.

DSC_1922

I wasn’t prepared to fall for these RMK products (my sister’s fault! he-he) but it’s such a pleasant albeit costly surprise.

If you want to know more about the brand, you can visit their website: www.rmkrmk.com

3 thoughts on “On RMK Samples: Very Nice To Meet You, Too!

  1. Pingback: QMP: On How Not To Look Sick « an artechoke

  2. Pingback: On RMK Smoothing Polished Base: Initial Impressions And Swatches « an artechoke

  3. Pingback: On A Collective Haul: Makeup from Bangkok and Singapore « an artechoke

Leave a Reply

